Poets logo

"REMEMBERING MY POPPA BIG VIC"

"Today is Father’s Day, June 16, 2024. My poppa passed away September 21, 1996"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 10 days ago Updated 10 days ago 2 min read
Daddy's Hands - Holly Dunn

BIG VIC, LITTLE VIC DINNER IN HOLLYWOOD 1980S.

REMEMBERING MY POPPA BIG VIC

Today is Father’s Day, June 16, 2024. My poppa passed away September 21, 1996.

I LOVE YOU BIG POPPA VIC! MUSIC ALWAYS RULED OUR WORLD!

This poem is dedicated to Big Vic.

My poppa was a strong man.

I remember Daddy’s Hands,

A song I dedicate to my poppa Vic.

My dad and I had a distinct way of communicating.

We talk and laugh, and he would contemplate

When I had done wrong.

He always had my back.

Poppa Vic was there for me

With unconditional love no matter how, I was to be

Or what I did or what I said.

There was no lack

Of love.

We communicated through music,

sometimes fighting over what station to listen to,

but it always worked out for me.

I had so many albums to listen to

My dad loved Johnny Cash and

Various other bands.

I had rock, country, blues, to sing to

Before my poppa passed away of leukemia on my birthday week.

My poppa would record the latest music on a cassette tape,

So sweet!

I would record a new song

As I listened to my records on a cassette tape

As I sat alone

To sing my song.

I miss you Big Vic

A mechanic of old cars,

"ONE PIECE AT A TIME" MY DAD WOULD SING THIS ON THE WAY TO WORK.

And jeeps in WW TWO in

France.

"GO REST HIGH ON THE MOUNTAIN" VINCE GILL MY POPPA LOVED THE MOUNTAINS.

He was a peace activist for the forties,

A little dance

In front of the Eiffel tower

With his hat

Rat a tat tat!

He did not carry a gun,

But he said he had more fun

Working on the jeeps.

“Beep! Beep!”

Big Vic would say.

So, today

I celebrate Poppa Day

With music in iTunes.

I grew up in an exceptional home.

My dad was my hero.

So,

Happy Poppa Day Big Vic.

Your baby girl is proud of you.

This is Little Vic

Saluting my perfect late daddy.

I was never without a car.

That was then. This is now.

Love you Big Vic.

Always think of him jamming

In the afterlife with the music,

Talking cars

Not bars.

Rocking

Dancing.

Love you POPPA VIC.

Written by

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

June 16, 2024

I can hear my poppa saying,

“Sister, forget about it. No ones’ ‘gonna’ remember in a 1oo years from now.”

I would say to BIG Vic, “Okay! Forget about it! Poppa Vic, yes, I remember the week you passed away. We celebrated my 46th birthday with a pink birthday cake, balloons, laughter, and lots of love. That is what I cannot forget.

At times I still feel my poppa. I hear the train from my bedroom window, thinking about his pop, the

train conductor.

ALAN JACKSON MY DAD'S LAST CASSETTE TAPE HE SENT ME

"SONG FOR THE LIFE"

THANK YOU, POPPA VIC, MY HERO!

Odesurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessinspirationalFree VerseFamilyBallad

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I was in the first computer class in 1981 at The LA Times. PEACE OUT!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Hannah Moore7 days ago

    Awe, what a lovely bond you had.

  • Shirley Belk8 days ago

    Hugs Little Vic....what a beautiful tribute and a great dad!!!

  • His unwavering love, music-filled moments, and steadfast support echoed through your lives, shaping the bond you shared. Though he may be gone, his spirit lives on, celebrated through the cherished songs, laughter, and profound connection that defined your relationship. We're very happy to read this work, “liked" it, and hope to read more of your works, thank you very much for sharing this wonderful journey of the soul, subscribed.

  • This was such a wonderful tribute to your Poppa. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins10 days ago

    Big Vic sounds like he was the life of the party. I bet we would have gotten along. Such an awesome tribute, Little Vic!

  • Lana V Lynx10 days ago

    Such a nice tribute to your father, Vicki! Parents are missed forever.

  • Sweileh 88810 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more now

  • shanmuga priya10 days ago

    It's touching to see how his memory continues to live on in your heart...

Vicki Lawana Trusselli Written by Vicki Lawana Trusselli

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.