Poets logo

Memories From The Heart

You'll Never Know How Much I Miss You

By Carol TownendPublished 5 days ago 1 min read
Memories From The Heart
Photo by Nolan Issac on Unsplash

As I walk down the street where my childhood began,

I hear the honk of a car,

And the sound of your deep voice,

I look around and sink in sadness;

It wasn't your car or your voice I heard.

I turn my eyes to face the house opposite

the one we used to live in,

I see a dad encouraging his children into his car,

They are going on holiday, just like we did with you

when we were children.

I stare at the number plate on the door of the house

where we used to live,

Number 24;

In my mind, I hear familiar laughs,

The pitter-patter of feet in the hallway,

And the clatter of plates as mum cooks

tea after school.

I stare at the empty driveway, where you used to

park your car and lorry;

I can hear you, just like those past times when you were here,

Starting your lorry at 5 A.M. every morning as you head to work,

And I can hear the slamming of car doors and the excitement in mine

and my sibling's voices from days when we were getting ready to

go on holiday.

These are memories from the heart;

We may never experience these memories again now that

we are apart,

But these memories are the precious jewels of life,

They are priceless, and must always remain in our minds,

And our hearts forever.

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeFree VerseFamilyexcerpts

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • T. Licht4 days ago

    So well written I can feel everything you said. Great poem!

  • D.K. Shepard4 days ago

    Beautifully wistful and nostalgic piece! Thanks for sharing a walk down your memory lane!

  • Rasma Raisters4 days ago

    Beautiful and most passionate write, I agree memories are the best,

  • Shirley Belk5 days ago

    Memories are priceless...thank you for sharing your...loved it

  • shanmuga priya5 days ago

    Brilliant! ........Your words are like a river of emotions, flowing effortlessly!....loved your poem....

Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.