Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Remember

The Memories That Hunt Us Affect Us

By Dachelle DachellePublished 10 days ago 1 min read
Remember
Photo by Osman Rana on Unsplash

“Remember the weeping tree?”

“Oh, yes! We became best friends at that tree. Mother made me go outside to make friends. Shy, I still approached. Stick in hand, dragging as you made a path, I spoke and said hi”

“Yes, We stayed best friends. We didn't let anything break us apart. Now 22 years old, we continue.”

“But you left me.”

“I didn’t leave silly. I’m here. We are here talking.”

“Yeah, but it’s not the same.”

“I will never leave your side. Best friends until the end, remember?”

“You were there for me when my dog got hit by that car. I can’t believe I witnessed that at 12 years old. Mother bought me another one like that was–.”

“Best friends until the end, remember?”

“Glass flew everywhere, jerked around, with no control, no freedom, and time slowed. At my side, you weren't there. The restraints kept me, but they had set you free.”

“Don’t remember that. Don't let that be the last–.”

“I can’t forget. I can’t believe I witnessed that at 21. I remember seeing your–”

“Stop! You have to listen to me.”

“You know that was a weeping tree, right?”

“No. It happened so fast.”

“Wasted, the red lights blurred. I remember just before you looked at me to laugh. You didn’t see because you looked at me. Lights lit up like Christmas when it was over.”

“Sweetheart, who are you talking to?”

“Mother, I’m talking to Lis–a.”

sad poetryMental HealthheartbreakFriendship

About the Creator

Dachelle Dachelle

I am me and you are you. We may have crossed paths once or maybe two. "What's your life like?" goes through my mind. This is my outlet for your time.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Andrea Corwin 10 days ago

    Oh so sad, and telling! I loved it, not the sadness, but how you created it and led us through it.

Dachelle DachelleWritten by Dachelle Dachelle

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.