Poets logo

Piercing of the Veil

Heloise and Abelard

By John CoxPublished 4 days ago Updated 3 days ago 2 min read
The Kiss by Gustav Klimt - WikiArt

Let me sing of love - body and soul,

Of fair Heloise and Abelard in the Temple

Of Knowledge and Truth.

...

Let me sing of life - body and soul

and the revelation of reason divine,

"Can you see it? Like a piercing of the veil?"

...

"Can you see it?" Asked Peter Abelard,

"I see and apprehend,” answered Heloise,

As his finger tapped a passage in the book.

...

"Character reveals moral purpose" quoted he,

"Yes, yes" she answered with passionate blush,

"What we choose or avoid must define us!"

...

Let me sing of truth - body and soul,

Our hearts see so much more

Then our eyes ever behold.

...

Let me sing of desire - body and soul,

Of the ardent words that once flowed

When Peter dared woo fair Heloise.

...

"All the joy of the world lives

In thy lightest touch, dear one,"

His words sweetening her comely gifts.

...

He saw in her shyly lowered gaze,

The same desire as he that burned and blazed

In her body fair and demure.

...

Let me sing of love - body and soul,

As Peter dared kiss her flushing cheeks

And she returned the same gift to his.

...

Let me sing of wisdom - body and soul,

Of wise Solomon's admonition

'Before its time, do not awaken love.'

...

But when his lips first touched hers

All wisdom did they abandon,

What we choose or avoid must us define.

...

They tried to return to Master Aristotle's words,

But his hands soon strayed instead

T0 her breasts and after to his bed.

...

Let me sing of honor lost - body and soul,

Of fair Heloise heavy with unwanted child,

And proud brothers with vengeance vowed.

...

The price that Peter paid was high,

After harsh instruction from the barber's shears.

But Heloise's price was higher still.

...

Courtly love was yet new in France,

Barbarism not yet cast far behind,

And poor Heloise in disgrace Peter sent away.

...

Let me sing of love - body and soul,

Of fair Heloise and Abelard in the Temple

Of Knowledge and Truth.

...

Let me sing of life - body and soul

and the revelation of reason divine,

"Can you see it? Like a piercing of the veil?"

Ballad

About the Creator

John Cox

Family man, grandfather, retired soldier and story teller with an edge.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Morgana Millera day ago

    This punched me in the feels today, John! Read it 3 times. Thank you for great poetry 🙏

  • Lamar Wiggins2 days ago

    Nice!!! Next step, the recording studio. Hope your ballad voice is ready. Seriously though, this was different and ingenious, John. Loved it!

  • D.K. Shepard3 days ago

    Absolutely superb! This has all the elements of an epic ballad! This is lyrical bliss with an aching tale of tragedy! Excellent work, John!

  • Hannah Moore3 days ago

    This is fantastic John, so, well, balladesque! I can really imagine it being sung in a hall while folk listen, bewitched.

  • ROCK 3 days ago

    Absolutely beautiful and tragic as most ballads are. I used to have The Kiss hanging over my bed. Really loved this one!

  • This seemed very lyrical and I sang this to my own tune. Loved it so much!

  • Rachel Deeming3 days ago

    A ballad! I've not read a ballad for years! Fitting too in light of the subject matter which is a story I'd never heard of so you have educated me today. They called their son Astrolabe. What a choice. I loved this story of lasting love and what you did with it.

  • Andrea Corwin 3 days ago

    What a sad tale those two had! I loved your ballad! What became of the child, raised by aunt perhaps known as 'mother.'

  • shanmuga priya3 days ago

    The repetition of the lines “Let me sing of love - body and soul,” echoing through the verses, created a powerful refrain that draws me ever deeper into the heartbreaking tale....What a beautifully woven and soul-stirring ballad of love, wisdom, and loss! I liked it 😊

  • What a lovely but tragic ballad! Temptation is so bittersweet. Wonderfully written, John!

John CoxWritten by John Cox

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.