Poets logo

Relationship, Abbreviated

How we chat today...

By Kendall Defoe Published 2 months ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
14
Relationship, Abbreviated
Photo by Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona on Unsplash

Note: This is another of my experiments with the form. Please be brutal with the criticisms and critiques. I am trying to do something here that may take some time. - K.D.

  • HI!
  • HI
  • TIL... YOLO + SCUBA = NO!
  • WTF? Y? DM!
  • ASAP? THX!
  • NP... BTW...
  • ?
  • NVM...
  • WTF? LMK!
  • BRB...
  • MF!
  • NSFW! JK...
  • U FTW!
  • HA! LMFAO!
  • AITA?
  • LOL. IMHO...IDK. OTOH, ILY...FWB!
  • ILY...SO!
  • TTYL?
  • TTYL... CYA...
  • ...
  • CUL8R?
  • ...
  • NOOB!
  • TL;DR...
  • ROFL!
  • THX.
  • THX...SOS...
  • SRSLY?
Indeed...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentaryProsehumorFriendshipFor FunFirst Draftfact or fiction
14

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Amelia Moore2 months ago

    i could never be brutal... this is too entertaining to read.

  • Antoni Nima2 months ago

    Oh, I love the experimentation and even the result! I am unsure about the meaning of half of these, or if it is possible to read it out loud. I would love to see more as you develop the form you're playing with. I also admire the intrigue of pushing and playing with form, especially since this style of communication is so prevalent today. 😎😎😎

  • Martha Agnes2 months ago

    I LOVE THIS. Is that brutal enough? That was just plain fun--it makes me think of rap music and how many people it reaches because it is so in touch with life as we are living it today. Your work thrills me one minute, and the next it makes me think, "go deeper, young man, go deeper into your own soul." You have such promise as a writer because you have the nerve to push every envelope.

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    I like the idea of showing how little we actually communicate when we text Kendall, and how nuance is completely cut out in shorthand. Separating the two speakers with different symbols (dash vs dot) might help the reader follow the flow of the conversation a bit easier? A few of the abbreviations confused me, but I guess maybe that’s the point of this in part.

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    It's a little light on the end rhymes, but interesting. lol I understand most of the acronyms, but still not entirely sure how to read this one. Interesting experiment.

  • Annie Kapur2 months ago

    I love poems I have to decipher. :)

  • I knew everything except OTOH. What is that? 😅

  • Anisah Suhailah2 months ago

    i will say, this is mostly how my generation (Gen Z) do be speaking everytime, its insane how many abbreviations have been made since the birth of the internet days.

  • Kageno Hoshino2 months ago

    I'm out of words, this is good

  • I'm lost (which would have made my son lol). Had to look up half of it & I'm still not sure about those things which look familiar such as NO & SOS.

  • D. J. Reddall2 months ago

    Newspeak is not appealing, but formal experimentation takes courage.

  • Mark Gagnon2 months ago

    Are you trying to make me feel older than I already do? I'm not ready to learn a new language nor do I want to.KIO, OK!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    This is cool...and funnily enough. I did a similar thing...sorta recently - https://vocal.media/poets/dying-of-the-language

  • Reija Sillanpaa2 months ago

    It's a very interesting idea. The problem is that I have no clue what most of the abbreviations mean so the meaning of the poem is lost on me 😅.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.