Poets logo

reflections of divorce

a poem

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago 1 min read
10
reflections of divorce
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

your work beckoned

and I could breathe,

reprieve

granted for two short weeks

I could be me

your presence

always destroyed

hard earned

fragments

of attained joy

.

I promised my love

would glisten

like stars

yet it could only beg

please

cease fire,

enduring through thick

soon wore thin

I needed empathy

Reflecting

.

two long years

of waiting,

debating

as you continued

hating,

berating,

grating on every

laceration

and perforation

of your creation

.

you forced me

to choose myself

to leave,

alone to heal

the infected welts

and in the process

I excelled

I passed every test

of your master’s

hell

.

and through it all

I kept my heart

strong

by forgiving all

who did me wrong.

I erased you

along with the rest

should your name

come up

I wish you blessed

.

for God beckoned

and I can breathe,

reprieve granted

eternally

where I can be

me

beautiful kintsugi,

fully repaired

fragments

of attained joy

🕊️

inspirationalheartbreak
10

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    Stunningly written and the finale of peace is beautiful! 🤍

  • Is this based on your personal experience? If it is, I'm so sorry you had to endure this for 2 years 🥺 I'm just so glad you chose yourself in that situation because many others are not brave enough to so that. You are so strong! Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Test8 months ago

    Beautiful in its underlying pain and strength and hope and wisdom. Really lovely 💙Anneliese

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is beautiful and heartbreaking. This stanza was probably my favourite but I loved so many lines from this! ‘ I promised my love would glisten like stars yet it could only beg please cease fire, enduring through thick soon wore thin’

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    <3<3<3

  • Sara 8 months ago

    I love your mention of kintsugi, this is so beautiful and broken 💔

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    Gorgeous poem! Love the idea that ur joy took work to attain, like making pottery 🏺

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! Very passionate!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Profoundly written!!! Bittersweet 🦋

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.