Poets logo

Red-blooded Ode to Your Freedom

a satirical performance of American masculinity

By Joe NastaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Red-blooded Ode to Your Freedom
Photo by Lukas Juhas on Unsplash

Do you like my outfit, bro?

I wore red, white, and blue

to pose in the mirror athletically.

My coworker complimented my arms

because I’m always sleeveless

reaching above my head for no reason.

Did you notice I’ve been working out?

I swear I can be your good sport:

It’s possible I owe the government half

a million dollars or my life expectancy.

When you hum National Anthem

the vibrations shake opposite corners

of this gorgeous country, my split molar

and the fleshy gap between my lungs.

The only thing I love about America is you

and your delicious freedom to ignore me.

Joe Nasta (ze/zir) is a queer writer and mariner based in Seattle. Joe is one half of the art and poetry collective Eat Yr Manhood with Cass Garison. Zir first book can be read for free on issuu and zir work has been published in The Rumpus, Entropy, PRISM International, Peach Mag, and others. Ze co-curates a zine of unconventional art and writing at stonepacificzine.com and is currently part of the 2022 Collective Autonomy in Practice Cohort with the Operating System/Liminal Lab.

Note: This poem was previously published in Good Afternoon -- Note in a Bottle 4 on Medium

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Joe Nasta

Hi! I'm a queer multimodal artist writing love poems in Seattle, one half of the art and poetry collective Eat Yr Manhood, and head curator of Stone Pacific Zine. Work in The Rumpus, Occulum, Peach Mag, dream boy book club, and others. :P

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jeffrey Sparks2 years ago

    Great piece Joe. Keep it up.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.