Poets logo

Reaching Out

The Emotions of the Moment

By KA Stefana Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
3

From across the room

My eyes glanced upon perfection

I turned away

Blushing

Was I ready to be a part of the crowd?

My short red skirt and 3" heels

Were brand new

I bought them for this event

My black silk blouse

Fit perfectly

My nerves took control

As I walked toward the crowd

I reached my hand out

Needing to feel it

To hold it in my hand

I gave a sharp glance

As someone pushed me away

Not recognizing me

I pushed back

Needing to get closer

Reaching in once again

I ran my fingers down its spine

Its jacket was smooth

Cool to the touch

Reading the title

And seeing my name

In the perfect font

It was everything I had expected

And so much more

Finally, I took hold of it

Possessed it

Thought about running away

Until my thoughts were interrupted

A voice broke through my haze

"Will you sign this for me, please?"

I took his pen and closed my eyes

And scribbled my name across the page

Hours later, leaving for home

My husband placed his hand on my shoulder

Whispering, "I'd say that went smoothly!"

humorart
3

About the Creator

KA Stefana

I started writing as a hobby during quarantine. From a hobby, a passion bloomed. Author of Dark Fantasy with a twist of romance. Available on KU - The Origins of Darkness, The Daughters of Darkness and The Forgotten.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.