Poets logo

Ravages

Isabelle is too much for me

By Mack D. AmesPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3

Delicately, as if my health were as fragile as dried leaves,

Isabelle danced through my room on her tippy-toes,

Silent as a churchmouse, just as she promised.

Time has been unkind to us; I aged more rapidly than she,

Ravages of a partying past caught up to me at last, while Isabelle

Alone has thrived, so beautiful, angelic even, my lovely lass.

Can I not rouse myself to love her still? To thrill her as before?

To take my darling dancing on the hardwood, to the music score?

I'll do it! Bring my finest coat and tails and Isabelle and I will go!

Oh, darling, go without me. I'm too old. My body cannot take it.

No, really, Belle. Dance, laugh, and have your fun. I can't make it.

sad poetrylove poemshumor
3

About the Creator

Mack D. Ames

Educator & writer in Maine, USA. Real name Bill MacD, partly. Mid50s. Dry humor. Emotional. Cynical. Sinful. Forgiven. Thankful. One wife, two teen sons, one male dog. Baritone. BoSox fan. LOVE baseball, Agatha Christie, history, & Family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Brilliant work, Mack D. Ames.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.