Poets logo

Orange You Glad?

They Were Pleased

By Mack D. AmesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Autumn Palette

"Blaze orange, really?" Everyone expresses surprise at my choice of paint. I was ten then, and autumn's palette tantalized my vision. "Pick one" was my parents' requirement; it could not be a collage. Heatless, too, I reasoned this hue would warm my body and soul in winter.

Childhood passed, and college, too. I moved out, married, the room no longer mine. My blaze orange got buried by lolling lavender. On our honeymoon visit, in the middle of the night, we heard the scream of the alarm. Dazed and groggy from deep sleep, dressed hastily, stumbled through thick smoke, down the stairs, out the front door to fill our lungs with fresh spring air, where we waited for help and shivered in dewy dampness.

Dad emerged from the kitchen, fire extinguisher in hand. "Never did get this thing to work," he related calmly, "but it looks like we're not going to have a fire tonight."

"That's good," we say.

"Yes, we were pleased."

The chimney fire burned itself out before the trucks arrived, but the stench and aftertaste in our months remained for days. Only my room escaped smoke, for I had recalled the lesson of my youth: Close the door when leaving a room during a fire to reduce smoke damage. Mack 1, Smoke 0.

They were pleased. Not pleased enough to leave my precious walls blaze orange, but pleased.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Mack D. Ames

Educator & writer in Maine, USA. Real name Bill MacD, partly. Mid50s. Dry humor. Emotional. Cynical. Sinful. Forgiven. Thankful. One wife, two teen sons, one male dog. Baritone. BoSox fan. LOVE baseball, Agatha Christie, history, & Family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.