Poets logo

pûr - ter - āēr - mar

Latin-tinged Acrostic Compound Haiku

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read

purifying fire

ûnhibitied, blazing

reaping my soul clean

terrains we traverse

earthen pathways of our lives

rambling on to death

ātmospheric skies

ēagles' majestic domain

reminds; humbles us

maelstroms teach and test

are we cut out to survive?

reality drowns us all

*

Second to last entry into the Quadru-Haiku Challenge.

Acrostic using Latin roots for the elements. Ambitious or stupid? Did I really pull it off?

I have loved being able to push myself with this challenge. Haikus really do teach us how to have a better command of words. The better economy of words.

If you enjoyed this please feel free to comment or click the heart. I appreciate all interactions and you can even subscribe.

You may also like to read -

Another compound four-haiku about the elements for the same Challenge

One of my favourite entries into the same Challenge:

And, finally, one of my favourite and most important pieces:

You can also take a look at my other work here.

love poemsperformance poetrynature poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Sandra Tena Cole3 months ago

    Ambitious and effective 💖

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Lives, skies, survive. How marvelous, the loose rhyme in this one, so cohesive in its sound. You capture the bigness of nature so well. I've read a few from this challenge but this one gets the themes down in a subtle way, the main theme much larger and more tangible here. So much to love! I could analyze it for a while! 💖 One of my favorites from you.

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    Wow loved this! Great flow, easy to follow but still complex and creatively written. Nailed the prompt as well!

  • It art , It's an idea, and it's good

  • Whoaaa, you blew my mind with this one! You are so inspirational!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This was unique - I like it! I enjoyed the latin :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    yeah, I think it worked wonderfully. well done.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    The word nerd in me is so proud of you!! I loved this! It flowed really well. And I these lines kept sticking out to me on the re-reads, 'ēagles' majestic domain reminds; humbles us'. Excellent work

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.