Poets logo

Poetry Found Me

Accidental Poet

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Image made with NightCafe

I was never drawn to poetry

I was never interested in prose

Not really, anyway

Sure, I loved wordplay

Rhymes, innuendos and double entendre

Puns, irony, alliteration,

metaphors, similes, allegories

Tam o Shanter and The Raven were always favourites

But...

*

This wasn't supposed to happen

This wasn't part of the plan

Somehow though...

Poetry found me

*

That sounds a bit strange, doesn't it?

Maybe pompous even?

Be that as it may

There is no better way to say it

Poetry found me

Took me captive

Used my love of the written and spoken language

To lure me in and make me its slave

Now I am forever Cursed, emphatically and enthusiastically

Now I am forever Tortured, deliciously so

Now I can't stop thinking in terms of stanzas

Now I can't stop thinking about acrostics

While I have this outlet

To clear my grievances, thoughts and feelings

I find myself collecting more

*

Words fascinate me

They always have

So, I guess it was a matter of time

Before

Poetry found me

Rewired my brain, on some level

Reorganised the fragments, to some degree

Now I think in haiku

Try to tame syllables

Make them yield to me

Sometimes I will build a piece

Out of interesting fragments

Sometimes I will build a piece

Out of a Maddening thought

The words need to get out

The words need to be Free

"haiku challenges

Are ones that appeal to me

They offer me peace"

I have been transformed

Poetry found me

I went looking for something

Poetry found me

The Chaos still exists

That Insanity

Unbridled and ready to be untethered

Inside my mind

There's a rhyme and reason now, though

There's a rhyme waiting to be found

There's a sound waiting to be found

Pompous?

Maybe

But that's okay

Because

Poetry found me

*

When I close my eyes

I see letters rearranging themselves into words

Words combining and forming sentences

Sentences becoming verses

Verses becoming...

Something...tangible...something...greater than the sum of its parts

Something...Real...

No longer just a Concept that is invisible to the eyes

No longer just an Idea floating around in my brain

The Concept, The Idea has Flesh and Bones

The Concept, the Idea has been released from its cage

Free to just...

Wield its Power

Express emotions like sadness, fear, distress, disappointment,

desire, contempt, confusion,

awe, anger, amusement, and adoration

States of mind like hope, angst, despair, arousal

Vividly describe detailed dark, dank and dusky nights

And beautifully bright, blue, and blissful days

*

Poetry found me

Opened up my mind

Encourages me to empty its contents

Taunts me to use its Power

Rouses my Creativity

Yearns for me to use its Power

Forces me to look inward

Opens my mind to wordplay and syllables

Undermines my abilities, pushing me to do better

Nudges me onwards...beckons me towards it...Like a Siren calling out to a ship so it crashes

Drowning me in my love for the written and verbal word

Making it impossible for me to turn around and escape

Easier to give in...

*

Yeah, poetry...

Poetry found me.

*

Thank you very much for reading this poem. This is probably the most ambitious poem I've ever written. So...yeah. I feel like it's self-explanatory. I intend on writing about my recent Vocal/Writing experiences at the end of the month, so I'll keep it brief here.

If you enjoyed this free-form thing, please drop a comment, click the heart or both. You can also hit the subscribe button too. All interactions are welcomed and appreciated.

While you are here you may also enjoy these other pieces:

One of my favourite entries for the Quadru-Haiku Challenge:

One of my two entries into the Reset Your Password Challenge:

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

Thanks again for reading!

performance poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentarylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Grz Colm8 days ago

    Top job. I do not think I was following u then.. I feel like this is more than a year, like closer to two. . Regardless, it’s really interesting to see how your writing has evolved but you are still playing games and doing your thing here which I admired..the poems within poems and just the general gleeful tone of the piece! 😁 I think we are all pleased you have been so inspired by poetry writing.

  • Sandra Tena Cole3 months ago

    💖💖💖

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Love this. 🩷

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Agreed! I always liked writing songs but didn't like poetry lol... seems silly now. I especially agree with this thought as when I write about trauma or depression, a whole lot of other things come up for me too! "To clear my grievances, thoughts and feelings I find myself collecting more"

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Love it ❤️ I feel like poetry found me too. Beautifully written and I love the description of the process!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved it!!!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is an excellent & creative piece - poetry definitely influences the way I think - it only disturbs me at night when it makes me think to hard & complete a poem in my because I don't want to get up & write it down - I'm supposed to be sleeping! 🤪

  • Whoaaaa! Haiku and Acrostic! Poetry found you because it needed you for it to express itself. It knew you had a lot of potential!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Brilliant & Powerful work! Eloquence at its finest! I'm so glad that it did find you! You two are a match made in Heaven! This is definitely TOP STORY material! BRAVO! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This resonated so much, I felt like you could have been replacing all the I's with You's. Love it and so glad that you found this wonderful thing called poetry. Looking forward to reading more!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I'm so glad poetry found you! This was a delight to read. :) Poetry can definitely be addicting! Loved your expression here!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Good thing it does. Great piece.

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.