Poets logo

Prison of Souls

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
17

In the prison of souls

There is no control

It makes you a fool

For answering the call

Of its uplifting fall

For all that are compelled by its draw

Locked in my head

I wish I had fled

Yet, I stay in their stead

The profanity of your sanity

Sanitized existence prefaced by pestilence

You’ve been selected

To exit freedom

A dollar fiend

I try to wean

Yet never clean

Of the unseen need

For which we bleed

Separated from our seed

Tying our rope

With the hope

That we will see

When we are set free

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Twitter @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

surreal poetry
17

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mescaline Brisset2 years ago

    Very creative! And I also love this photo/drawing. Yours?

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Outstanding!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.