Poets logo

Sweet & Sour Self-Sabotage (Life With ADHD)

Very often I have to ask myself if I'm actually trying my best. Because very often I am dissatisfied with the results of whatever it was I was trying to do. This element of ADHD is a rather confusing one; it seems as though I can work/perform or do whatever really well under pressure, but only under pressure. A time limit in particular creates the kind of pressure that then initiates a "hyper-focus" producing the best possible results, but it's only under that kind of pressure that any results are produced at all.

By Josh MorganPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Sweet & Sour Self-Sabotage (Life With ADHD)
Photo by Blake Carpenter on Unsplash

i don't quite understand, how so often i stand in disgust,

i can't quietly stand in front of the mirror and trust-

how many times have i stood here in front of the glass,

asking who's really in control?

who's really in the lasting role?

am i even trying?

or is it just a story i'm buying?

sold by the glass, my past is laughing and the mirror's crying-

the last thing i'd think is that the glass would step to trespass-

if that's the case then why not walk away and let it collect its dust?

if a gust of wind takes it then so be it

because at this pace i won't need it

if it just breaks then so be it-

because if the glass doesn't break then i will,

if leaving this place is a must for me then so be it-

my last words to the glass will be "i won't miss you."

if i need a new venue then so be it-

i'll take the first appointment-

i can't continue with this disappointment

i can't continue to sit quietly if this is a test

if my best is really just this,

i can't just stand and ask quietly, i have to demand the rest-

without the rest, i'm restless in the sunlight and dreamless in the moonlight

i'm team-less in the crowd, because me, myself, and i are soon to fight,

over the mess of text in my mind

it spells out inadequate,

its effect is me asking why don't i just quit

scattered concepts moving about undirected

from subject to subject, i wonder what's next-

i wonder who's to blame-

me, myself or i

or that man in the mirror, the glass

i hate the pain of staring at that pane

if it's me then who was it in my past?

and if it was i, than i only have myself to blame

standing in disgust again-

just me, myself i, and the glass mirror

Stream of ConsciousnessRequest Feedbackperformance poetryMental Healthinspirational

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Josh MorganWritten by Josh Morgan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.