Poets logo

Praise, the LORD

*

By Dean F. HardyPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
28
Praise, the LORD
Photo by Dollar Gill on Unsplash

"how can you write poetry and

not like poetry?" she asked.

"i don't know."

"well, what is it you don't like?"

"it seems detached to me. like something

removed from me. it was never written for me."

"maybe you're just not getting it."

"yeh." i said.

"because, i mean, BYRON?

come on. BYRON, is for everyone!"

"you mean, LORD byron.."

...

"you shouldn't be so bitter you know. he even

studied in dublin.

BYRON writes about ROMANCE and NATURE

with an elegance and GRACE."

"i guess"

"you guess?? HA!

And what do you write about?!"

"i wrote about a cat licking his

balls the other day."

"you're a vulgar ass, did you know that?"

"it was beautiful. it was hot out and he was in the sun

and he was really getting into it."

"you're a fucking idiot."

..

i got up and showered then.

when i got out,

she was gone.

i boiled the kettle and

drank a cup of tea in the

afternoon silence and watched

a gun metal sky and

praised the fuckin' LORD.

how tolove poemshumor
28

About the Creator

Dean F. Hardy

Writer from Dublin, Ireland.

*All work here is owned by Dean F. Hardy*

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Test10 months ago

    Congrats, Dean 🌟

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Congratulations on Top story, very humorous

  • sleepy drafts10 months ago

    Oh, this is just awesome. 💕

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Dean, I really liked the formatting and mood of this piece. Made me think of chat-fiction for a second, with how it started. I laughed my as off at the part where the narrator talked about the poem he wrote about a cat licking it's balls. 🤣 Congratulation son Top Story!! 🎉

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    There are days like that Momma said.

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    Thrilled you got TS for this one!! Congratulations, my friend :)

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    LOL Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️💕

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I would say "called it" but, i'll just say congrats on killer Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Haha. I need to see that cat one. I mean I need to read that cat one. Lol. This is great. Congrats on the TS

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    Circling back to congratulate you on having this deservedly recognized as a Top Story

  • Quite humorous Dean. I like your honesty and viewpoint on poetry.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Great stuff, right down to the subtitle. Well done!

  • A. Lenae10 months ago

    Just yes, so much yes. This was absolutely skin-tingly glorious.

  • Beth Sarah10 months ago

    Love it as usual 👏

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Ha!! This is good stuff, Dean! Saw the title, saw you were the author, knew it would be great. Loved it.

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    Fucking hell, I enjoyed this. But of course I always do when you write it :) What a happy surprise to read with my coffee today.

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    Showers work magic, don't they?

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    oh my! You have been missed! This was stunning, Dean, seriously! Made me hurt my blooming mouth with grinny type smiles...especially the bit about the cat. then the last bit...love how poetic it sounded, with so much biting sarcasm! That's how I read it anyway! Well done!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    This made me laugh to myself. I have so many conversations like this around other topics, and I think you reached the right conclusion... Thank zod!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.