Poets logo

Plunder

___

By Dean F. HardyPublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
13
taken by author

I return to the place

every now and then

always petrified, bones ache

and grind, telling me to run

and on approach the smell

of damp concrete begins

to penetrate my senses

as I enter tragedy's domain

like crossing the threshold of fever dream

to nightmare,

where ghosts toy

with the dying carcass

of a life once lived.

*

I move further into its depth

and the nauseating muscle pump

of my heart

buries my ears and drains

the colour from my face.

That clammy cold

sits on my cheeks and back of my neck.

I arrive finally

at my altar and the air hisses

from me like a slashed tire.

At either end

of graffiti stained walls

cars and people and life

pass by... and nobody can see me,

hear me, save me.

Just as it was.

Just as it always will be.

*

Because I am part of this place now,

this wicked place..

Just as the puddles are.

Just as the cracks and crevices.

Just as the sour trash and rust.

Just as the leaking pipes,

the steaming grates

the watching walls

and sliver of merciless sky.

Just as he is.

Just as it was.

Just as it always will be.

fact or fictionsurreal poetrysad poetry
13

About the Creator

Dean F. Hardy

Writer from Dublin, Ireland.

*All work here is owned by Dean F. Hardy*

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Excellence! I expect nothing less from you. Great read, Dean!

  • ARCabout a year ago

    "where ghosts toy with the dying carcass of a life once lived." This feeling. Is so unique and distinct. I know *exactly* what you're talking about. You could spend 100,000 words describing this feeling and fail to encapsulate it as effectively... viscerally... *masterfully* as you did here. Amazing piece, Dean. Thank you for this. πŸ‘

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Every line of this is just ….wow. πŸ‘

  • L.C. SchΓ€ferabout a year ago

    I may never enter a challenge again πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

  • Emily Binkleyabout a year ago

    Love the imagery, it painted a very good picture of the setting.✨

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Some really well painted imagery. Appreciated so many vivid word choices: steam, sour, hisses, slashed. And your pic ended up going well with it, nice work :) To me, this felt like an inevitable, albeit resigned, coming home of sorts. I enjoyed the read.

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Senses engaged with this one, for real. I enjoyed the read, Dean!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.