Poets logo

Perspective

*For the Epistolary Challenge*

By Dean F. HardyPublished 12 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
23
"A Deer's View" - taken by myself

Dear reality,

I've got the block again...

can feel it pressing on me

the way it does,

like the walls have eyes

that never sleep.

You're always the fix.

I can always bring it

with you.

You give me that juice

that fire, that action I need

to shoot from the hip.

You're my revelry.

But I don't know why I continue

to do this,

why I torture myself this way

staring into the abyss

of bums and hacks

that think themselves writers.

They are soft and squishy

no heat, no fucks, no hate

no love.

They are missing something primal

something intimate (maybe you?)

too concerned with form

and sniffing their own farts.

The world doesn't need anymore

fart sniffers.

We reached our quota

with them frauds in the 19th century:

Wordsworth with his daffodils and

wanting to fuck his sister.

Manley Hopkins crying for God in the slums of Dublin

after his own people

ravished and raped it until

there was nothing left but

plague & death.

Thoreau lost in the woods

somewhere, romanticising

into his pillow like a 14 year old schoolgirl

his cabin, stinking of farts.

The only one who faced the music

was poor Dickinson,

locked in her room

dancing with the Devil

blasting her typewriter

like a machine gun into the

night.

And God bless her everyone said

she was crazy,

but maybe she was the only

sane one left.

Because while all these

blue blood aristocrats

blew hot smoke

about their love of man and

fetishsised nature,

the blacks were still in chains

and the Irish were beaten like dogs

for speaking their mother tongue

and 10 year old boys crawled

the coal mines beneath the earth.

______________

Where were their poems

about that ?

Sincerely yours,

Nobody

social commentary
23

About the Creator

Dean F. Hardy

Writer from Dublin, Ireland.

*All work here is owned by Dean F. Hardy*

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)12 months ago

    Substantial Writing ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‘โค๏ธ

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Awesome, courageous, and true! ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Wowโ€ฆ Your blunt yet passionate energy when you write this is so breath taking and refreshing Dean! Your take on the world and reality left me frozen in shock and delight. I can relate to the way you paint the world and I really appreciate it! This was such a thought provoking and engaging piece! I am inspired by the passion with which you write! So eye opening and breath taking, Dean!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Powerful!!๐Ÿ’–

  • ARC12 months ago

    ooof. Dean, I love your writing, brother. Anytime I wonder if I'm being a bit too blunt in my own, I read your words and find myself inspired. Your courage-to-call-out is exemplary. This piece is awesome. Love your bit about Dickinson. Too true there. And your final thought -- question -- is so abrupt. Like a crash-test-car hitting a wall. What an impact. It leaves the reader with no choice but to face that question head-on. Brilliant work.

  • L.C. Schรคfer12 months ago

    I think I can feel the heat of the fire that was lit under your bottom when you wrote this. Amazing ๐Ÿ˜

  • Excellent words should be a Top Story

  • Quite Good.

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Raw and uncensored! This was the correct tone to convey the intended message. I definitely left a heart. Here is an extra one, ๐Ÿ–ค for opening my eyes.

  • Brannan K.12 months ago

    Solid job on this, Dean. The frustration is palpable and genuine! I admire the honesty here.

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    This is fantastic. Love it.

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Powerful, deep, and thought-provoking! I connected with so many of these lines but also learned so much from others. Great work! ๐Ÿ˜

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Please continue to torture yourself with the craft. Your madness is sane. โค๏ธ

  • Where were the poems? Awesome....I love this

  • River Joy12 months ago

    Wow another great piece. I felt this deeply.

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    I donโ€™t have adequate adjectives to express how I felt reading this. Just know that it inspired me.

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    This was SO GOOD- Favorite line: โ€œblasting her typewriter like a machine gun into the nightโ€ Phew! Freakinโ€™ awesome! Amazing work, Dean!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.