Poets logo

Possibilities

We spend our whole lives reaching and letting go

By Crystal JacksonPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1
Possibilities
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Who were we when we met, and where’d we go?

Strangers passing in the night never know

If the connection is karmic

Or just the consequence of being stuck together in the snow

We spend our whole lives reaching out and letting go

I really thought I saw myself in you

I think you saw yourself in me too

But we weren’t looking at each other

We were only ever mirrors

Reflecting what we hoped for

And desperately wanted to be true

Your hands on a camera, mine on keys

Possibilities pass by quietly

When I wasn’t who you hoped I might be

And you couldn’t live up to the hope in me

We were only ever mirrors

But mirrors never truly see anything but possibilities

You step off the train, I go my way

Some strangers meet but were never meant to stay

Our eyes meet before you walk away

A life flashes before our eyes, then slowly fades

Who were we when we met, and where’d we go?

We spend our whole lives reaching out and letting go

What might have been and what will be

We don’t yet know

So, we wait here for the melting of the snow.

social commentarysad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Crystal Jackson

Crystal Jackson is a former therapist turned author. Her work has been featured on Medium, Elite Daily, NewsBreak, Your Tango, and The Good Men Project. She is the author of the Heart of Madison series and 3 volumes of poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.