Poets logo

In Days of Yore

In another life, I would have a happy childhood.

By Mika OkaPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
2
In Days of Yore
Photo by Senjuti Kundu on Unsplash

Such is the power of a life unlived, a dream that remains forever out of reach.

A childhood that I’ll never have.

In the days of yore, I lived a life so pure, With a childhood that was gentle, kind, and demure. My parents were my guiding star, my light, And with their love, my life was filled with delight.

In a meadow bright and fair, we’d spend our days, With blooms that cast a fragrant haze. We chased after fluttering butterflies, And played beneath the azure skies.

At eventide, we’d return to our abode, With crackling fire, warming our abode. My mother’s dulcet voice would fill the night, As my father told stories of valiant knights.

At dawn, I’d wake to their gentle touch, Feeling loved and cherished, never as such. A breakfast feast would be prepared, A meal divine, that nothing could be compared.

My childhood memories would be a trove of precious gold, A store of love, mirth, and moments to behold. I imagine a blissful life, one without care or strife, And to my parents, I would pledge an endless fife.

©Emika Oka

Thank you for reading 🖤

Previously published on From The Corner of My Mind

Your support holds immense significance for a disabled neurodivergent. If you’d like to show your support, you can consider buying me a coffee here. Your kindness is greatly appreciated.

https://emikaoka.wordpress.com/home/

Prose
2

About the Creator

Mika Oka

Sharing her unique perspective on the world as a hearing-impaired autistic person with bipolar disorder despite the challenges.

https://ko-fi.com/emikaoka

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor10 days ago

    I like how this evokes such soft and gentle ideas of childhood and nurture Mika🤗 It’s hard being an adult, and sometimes all you want is to be back as a kid again.

  • Gosh this was so beautiful! I loved it!

  • Babs Iverson11 days ago

    Fabulous!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Well done for it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.