Poets logo

Pose For Me

Romantic, inspiring, body positive, encouraging entry for Dialogue Poetry Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 8 days ago Updated 5 days ago 2 min read
Who is she?

Pose for me, be my muse, my love

-

But why? So you can highlight

-

Your imperfections? Your lines?

-

Yes! I don't like those parts

-

But why? You earned those marks

-

Marks on skin, so very appealing

-

Appealing to me - for they show

-

That I'm old? Go paint a tree

-

Trees are wrinkled and admired

-

Sigh... you're an idiot

-

I'm your idiot, for better, worse

-

Don't remind me - 'til death

-

Sit please to the side

-

So you can mock my "bulbous nose"?

-

You won't let that lie, but no...

-

So you can draw attention to

-

Your curves and smooth skin? Yes

-

I don't always see me like you do

-

I know, which is why I'll never stop

-

Annoying me? I noticed that...

-

No, I'll never stop lifting you up

-

When I'm feeling down?

-

Yes... flick your hair back, drape it

-

Over my tired and weary shoulders

-

Your hair that begs to be touched

-

Grey and thin, so very appealing

-

The way it lies down your flesh

-

So pale, pallid and plain, you mean?

-

So pearly, pink-flushed and perfect

-

So charming

-

Pose for me, please, my muse, my love

-

You see the me you want to see, the fantasy

-

No, my love, I see the real you, the reality

-

I'm not a goddess, an icon, or a starlet

-

You're beautiful, in spirit, heart and wearing pink

-

I'm not really sure about that...

-

But I am, so please let me capture your beauty

-

And my anxiety and depression, pain and suffering?

-

All of it, the good, the bad, the ugly and sad

-

And why?

-

You're more than just those gorgeous eyes, your luscious long hair, sexy curves and beautiful lips. You make me feel...something, just being there. What's beneath is most important, though, the beauty, the spirit, the heart within you.

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Self-explanatory mostly. I often will compliment my wife and she will dismiss my compliments. Basically. The "bulbous nose" line is based on once when I described my wife's nose, I used that word. She hasn't stopped bringing it up at random points over more than 21 years together. The "you're an idiot" lines are based on a phrase she has said regularly of me "you're an idiot... but you're my idiot".

Hope you enjoy it!

Here are some other bits and pieces:

FriendshipStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirationalGratitudeFree VerseFamilyart

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (19)

  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶about 23 hours ago

    Lovely banter… The author’s notes… funny! Best be careful what you say, sometimes you never get to forget!

  • Grz Colm3 days ago

    Heheh loved the authors notes too! And your own phrases embedded in the piece! ☺️👍

  • I loved reading this - as the love of your wife shines through so very beautifully.

  • Dana Crandell6 days ago

    In a word: Perfect! Well done, sir!

  • L.C. Schäfer7 days ago

    "you're an idiot" is like "as you wish" 😁

  • Sara Wilson7 days ago

    I absolutely adore this. Nice work 💯

  • Hannah Moore7 days ago

    Imagine if we saw ourselves through the eyes we used when we look on those we love.

  • "I know, which is why I'll never stop - Annoying me? I noticed that..." Lol, that part made me laugh! This was so sweet, Sir Paul. And awww, you're an idiot but you're her idiot! Sooooo adorable!!

  • John Cox7 days ago

    I absolutely love this poem, Paul! Bravissimo! Love the pic of your beautiful lady as well!

  • D. J. Reddall8 days ago

    An elegant tribute, witty and wise. Good show, good sir!

  • Andrea Corwin 8 days ago

    This is special!! ❤️❤️

  • Caroline Jane8 days ago

    ❤️❤️❤️

  • Rachel Deeming8 days ago

    Ah, I loved this! This is what sharing life with someone is about. I loved the heart of it and the reality. Nice work, chumalum!

  • What a beautiful relationship - to see the beauty behind the flaws or maybe because of them. This should be advice to most men show seldom think we'd like to hear a compliment now and then. BRAVO

  • JBaz8 days ago

    The hai has all the signs of a mature relationship based on real life

  • Babs Iverson8 days ago

    Authentic and gorgeous conversation!!! Loved it!!! ♥♥♥

  • Natasha Collazo8 days ago

    I enjoyed this so much. In fact my breath was taken away. This was really intense in such a profound pure wholesome way. If my man did this I’d be like “ what you do” 😂 Bravo 👏

  • D.K. Shepard8 days ago

    This made me a bit teary! Such a beautiful and powerful picture of love! This is an absolute treasure, Paul! Powerful poetry!

  • Lana V Lynx8 days ago

    Beautiful, Paul. I’m sure your wife knows how much you love and appreciate her, but this makes it official :).

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.