Poets logo

Pools, Eggrolls, and Pina Colada Songs

Poems of tribute to the best friend I know.

By Lena FolkertPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
11
Pools, Eggrolls, and Pina Colada Songs
Photo by Sam Manns on Unsplash

🖤 Author's Note: The following is a small collection of short poems in tribute of my best friend of twenty years. You are more patient than you should be with me, and for that I love you so much! Thank you for always putting up with me and all the distance between us without ever making me feel like I've lost my best friend. I miss you and love you so much, My Kay Bear! 🖤

*** These are the songs that always remind me of you and our late night swims and chats. I know they mean as much to you as me! 🖤

🖤

My sister, my friend,

You always have been -

The better one in the end.

Too many years in between,

Our shared laughs, shared tears.

I know you have always been there.

Still, sometimes I am faced with the fear,

And grief of the day you're no longer there.

For me your wisdom and your insight,

Have always been a bright and shining light.

I cannot begin to say, or to show,

The depth of my love for you.

I can only hope that you know.

How to our friendship I'll always be true.

Your kindness and your loyalty -

Deserving of these, I could never be.

In the beginning, we weren't sure,

If we would ever really be friends.

But your heart has always been pure.

And you have been truly loyal down to the end.

🖤

Late nights in the pool,

With you floating in my arms.

You tell me your deepest thoughts,

And I pretend to be wise.

I finish your margarita,

As we eat eggrolls and cookies.

The long nights of bussing tables,

Did not exhaust our young minds.

So, we play old time music,

Giggling into the dawn.

We walk down to the beach,

And watch the sun rise in the sky.

Talking about the future,

Like we know what it may bring.

You fall asleep beside me,

And I lay down on the sand and smile.

That old Pina Colada song,

Will forever bring a smile,

And when I think of Copa Cabana,

You're right here beside me again.

A friend like you is precious,

And never will be forgotten.

🖤

Can you forgive me, my friend?

You always knew my disposition.

Letters and messages, I always forget to send.

I hope you know my position.

And don't forget me in my absence.

You're never far from my thoughts.

There's never a day I don't miss your presence.

Without my dear friend, I feel lost.

To you and I, I'm still loyal.

I'm simply the same me you already know.

Hoping our friendship will never spoil.

My affections, I may not show,

But my love for you only grows.

🖤

love poems
11

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.