Poets logo

Poetry Collection - Part One

A collection of short Poems

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 3 min read
12
Poetry Collection - Part One
Photo by Trust "Tru" Katsande on Unsplash

A small collection of short poems written at different times of my life.

By Zhen Hu on Unsplash

Does everyone remember that ever fateful day when they lost their virginity? It could only happen once and hopefully it was with the one person who meant the world to you.

My special night was with my soul mate, whereby it was also his special night. I only wish that we were not so young, but then with life being so short, I have no regrets of when it happened or with who.

Thirteen

You work up to it slowly

And suddenly, it’s done,

We give away our innocence

And come away with none.

***

Maybe when we’re older

We’ll think that we were fools,

But it’s hard to play the game

When you’re too young to know the rules.

***************************************

I wrote this short piece later that same night. Never had a moment of regret. Not once did I ever think we were fools (something I was obviously concerned about at the time).

**********************************************************************

By Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

The life of a part time Mistress, the understudy to the leading lady’s part, without the leading lady being aware she needed an understudy.

The Mistress

Put me in storage, cover me with mothballs

I’ll lay patiently waiting, until she’s gone again,

I will be by your side as your part time lover

When she’s here I’ll just be your part time friend.

***

I’m fully aware that you see me as the understudy

You made your choice for the leading lady’s part,

You are fully aware that you have my body

But I’ve never let you know you’ve also got my heart.

************************************************

I wrote this watching my best friend play the part of Mistress, although I couldn’t work out why she would want to be the understudy to anyone!

**********************************************************************

By Gary Butterfield on Unsplash

I often look back on life and imagine how different life could have been if I had made different choices.

Then

I think back now to what was then

And how it might have been,

Of what we would have done

And what it all would seem.

********************************

I wrote this piece when I was reflecting back on life one day. Short and sweet!

**********************************************************************

By Felipe Simo on Unsplash

A very short love affair can have a huge emotional impact on a young lady’s heart.

Why

You walked into my life

And immediately changed my style,

Now you intend to walk on out

And take with you my smile.

*********************************

A very brief love affair was behind this short and sweet piece. Goes without saying, it didn’t take me long to move on.

**********************************************************************

By Niranjan _ Photographs on Unsplash

When you are a young teenage girl, a lovers tiff can feel like the end of the world.

You And I

My arms are full of cuddles

My mind is full of dreams,

My heart is full of love

My lungs are full of screams.

***

My ears are full of music

My nose is full of aromas,

My body is full of feelings

My personality is full of personas.

***

My eyes are full of tears

As you’re no longer around,

I can no longer think or feel

Not until I rebound.

**************************

A young lover’s frustration, written on paper, to help her deal with her over exaggerated emotions after a lovers tiff with her partner.

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.