Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Fruits of Revenge

A Story Every Day in 2024 May 31st 152/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 20 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - May 2024
The Fruits of Revenge
Photo by He Junhui on Unsplash

It's taken me a lot to get here today. I don't like to go out much anymore. I know that my wife worries but it's a struggle that is all my own.

I had to come here today though and witness this.

I suppose in some ways I'm lucky because I can still function. I can still use my hands although there's some scarring from where I automatically tried to shield my eyes.

I miss my face.

I replay the events of that day over and over. What sort of a person has such hatred in them that they choose to destroy someone else? Because I have been destroyed. I'm still living and I can still do things: work, travel, visit the theatre. But now, I can't do that incognito. I don't blend; I'm a sore.

I watched a programme about Hawaii the other night. Stretches of land where the Earth has spewed its magma, oozing its molten mass over Nature's bountiful fecundity and scorching it to a ruin. A lumpy, misshapen landscape, distorted and altered beyond recognition. Liquid made solid.

That's me, after the acid attack.

My wife has stayed but I see her searching sometimes when I'm not looking directly at her. Her face shows sympathy, sadness and something else, that I can't quite identify. Wistfulness? Loss? If I turn, the mask of tact and compassion comes down like a shop shutter. She misses me, the person I was. I know, this body, this face is just a shell, and she tells me that but I know it's not the same.

He missed my eyes but on dark days, I wish he hadn't. Seeing life's reality hurts.

And now, I'm about to confront my attacker. I understand it was a case of mistaken identity, that there was no intended malice to me.

He looks so ordinary, this wrecker of lives. Sullen and scruffy, sat there in the dock. He's looked over at me and I see him grimacing, not with shame but because he doesn't like what he sees. He's repelled. I know exactly how he feels.

Looking at him, I understand more how that hatred to destroy can brew.

I'm feeling it now.

***

366 words

This links to, but can be read independently of, Revenge. Same event, different perspective.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

152/366

Stream of ConsciousnessShort StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionHorror

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (26)

  • Khan15 days ago

    I loved the ending line ❤️

  • Linda Goodman18 days ago

    Congratulations on your top story

  • Novel Allen19 days ago

    It is not really that hard to feel hate and want to lash out, there are people hurting and being hurt. Yet to harm innocent people is what I cannot understand. I get if you attack your attacker though...life is a gift...we should use it well. Congrats.

  • Chloe Gilholy19 days ago

    The I miss my face line hit me

  • Fantastic writing.

  • Ameer Bibi19 days ago

    It was trily a great work 👏

  • Shirley Belk19 days ago

    Great story, Rachel. Loved the part, "He's repelled. I know exactly how he feels."

  • Jasmine Whitmore19 days ago

    Truly interesting!

  • Grz Colm19 days ago

    Nice work on your top story my friend.🥳 Read this one before ! I prefer part one a little more but I like how they are done from various perspectives.

  • One of your best Rachel. This was a great read. Congratulations on your Top Story!!!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)19 days ago

    Rachel this is so twisted but also such an insightful piece!! Great work and congrats on Top Story!!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • D. J. Reddall20 days ago

    Very deftly done indeed!

  • Caroline Craven20 days ago

    I love it when you write the 'other side' of the story. I really enjoyed the first one. I think this one is outstanding. Great top story too. Nice one Rachel.

  • Gerard DiLeo20 days ago

    I'm ready to join him and do...whatever... Well done!

  • angela hepworth20 days ago

    So tragic and authentic. You can feel the protagonist’s emotions so powerfully. Moving work, Rachel!

  • Oh man this hurts I really feel for the protagonist so sad 😔

  • Anu Mehjabin20 days ago

    Heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. And congratulations🎉🎉🎉

  • Christy Munson20 days ago

    Every word, a sorrowful lament. But this line in particular for me - oh, this line: "I miss my face." My heart collapsed. You've crafted so deep a wound here. This piece of this continuing story is so brilliantly written. It stands on its own, but knowing what came before, I can only imagine what comes next. This microfiction reads truly real, palpable, ghastly, and I find it impossible to look away.

  • Paul Stewart20 days ago

    Oh boom! Congrats chum, on a deserving Top Story!

  • D.K. Shepard20 days ago

    Brutally painful and so tragic. The sorrow and anger, each emotional note was skillfully rendered.

  • John Cox20 days ago

    What Paul said. It’s so convincing, I feel myself turning away. Really compassionately written, Rachel.

  • Paul Stewart20 days ago

    I could feel the poor fella's pain. Well written Chum, as always. You get people...The whole thing reads so authentically. the understanding of his wife's mixed emotions - there's also no sign of him feeling horrible towards his wife, because he understands she can't help it...the way his whole thought process and feelings change when he sees his attacker again. Just impressive writing, Rachel! Off to read Revenge now too!

  • Belle20 days ago

    Incredible, Rachel! I love the ending line "I'm feeling it now." A unique and creative micro!!!

  • Oh my, although you mentioned acid attack, I didn't make the connection to that story, although it was just from 2 days ago. My memory truly sucks hahahaha. I hope he gets his revenge!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.