Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Revenge

A Story Every Day in 2024 May 29th 150/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 22 days ago 2 min read
Revenge
Photo by Alex Padurariu on Unsplash

I've got it. The acid. It took some doing but nothing a bit of trawling through the internet can't help with. I've got a lot in common with this acid, I think. I could probably tap into myself and siphon it off without having to buy it, I'm that bitter. And these feelings I have, fizzing, it's like they're sitting there, waiting, slowly corroding my innards, filling me with heat. If I keep them in any longer, they're gonna turn me from a living breathing body into powder.

I'll be dust.

I have to get it all out.

I'm not someone who sits and mopes. I'm a man of action. That's how I found out about the affair. Cheating bitch! And I know him. Bloke from the pub that we were chatting to at the Hallowe'en party. Played poker with him a couple of times since. Think he can fuck my missus and get away with it? He's gonna have his!

She told me where he lives. Scared as fuck I was gonna hurt her. I'm not a fists man but I am a vengeful one.

"What are you going to do, Keith?" she said, all wild-eyed, crying. "Don't hurt him! It was me! All me!"

Did she think she was going to make it better saying that? That she's to blame? Protecting him? Stupid fucking bitch. That just made me more mad.

I'll get him. With a nice surprise.

*

I've got to be quick.

Ring the bell. The door's answered. Opened and -

I throw the acid right in his face.

"Here's an early Christmas present!" and I leg it.

*

It's all over the news. "Man severely burnt in acid attack!" Local, national, internet - everywhere.

I feel better having done it. I can get on with life now. The missus hates me but she'll come round. She shouldn't have done what she did and he had to pay.

Simple.

*

That bitch. She stitched me up. Fucking bitch! She grassed me in! Got the police involved and now I'm banged up. Shit! Bitch laughed as they carted me away.

It wasn't him. Wasn't the fucker she'd been shagging.

Bitch gave me someone else's address.

Life over.

***

366 words

150!

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read it, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

thrillerShort StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionHorror

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)19 days ago

    Ooooooo!! That twist at the end got me sooo good! I knew it was coming because of the "sequel" to this bit the intensity and pacing of this piece just had me so drawn in I forgot that it was a case of mistaken identity!! Great wooer here Rachel!!

  • Paul Stewart20 days ago

    Oh crapola...this was just way too real. Keith sounds so realistic...as others have said. And just...the horrible irony...and his wife is bad for giving the wrong address. Puts the other story into a different perspective. I hate Keith and his wife now lol. Well written again Rachel!

  • Caroline Craven21 days ago

    Jesus. I think I read a news story similar to this. Horrific. Good job Rachel - Keith’s voice was totally believable.

  • Heather Hubler22 days ago

    Oh snap!! Wrong dude...that was a great twist!!

  • Christy Munson22 days ago

    You have tons on your plate already, so I appreciate your need for brevity, but can you imagine this piece as a 10 minute read, where you've fully developed the plot twists? I can imagine how horrific a horror story this could be--said as a major compliment. Loved it as written, very impactful, and far, far too believable. But the ending comes a touch too quickly, IMO.

  • John Cox22 days ago

    Oog! Too believable, this one is.

  • Oh dear, that was a great misleading misread, brilliant work

  • Whoaaaa!! Wthhhhh!! I did notttttt see that coming!! Oh shit!! I can't believe that he's the one in trouble now but his wife and the guy that she's cheating on him with are free! Like what the actual hell????? I gotta take deep breaths to calm down!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.