Fiction logo

The Girl At The Front Row

A Talk Talk Fan Fiction

By The CafecitoPublished 10 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Tomorrow Started

As I sat in my rented room thus with hardly a glimmer of light coming in from the windows and the candles, I felt transformed into a different era by the enchanting tunes of music. The sound of the needle running through the groove of the record came out as faint crackle, and for a moment, bands of feelings ran across with the strings breaking the shackles of time.

This made me realise, I have acclimatized myself so much to having his presence in my life, that I often forget we never met.

The music was of a conductor who had put his baton away long ago; he was a relic by the time I was born – or rather a maestro whose time was up ages before I made my entrance. His music was enchanting harmonies and philosophies that were put into lyrics and rhythms, and somehow, made me feel a part of me that I never knew existed but craved to be acknowledged and free.

Every note that came out of the speakers brought me closer and closer to the love – not just for the music but for the man who made it. The fire in his eyes was reflected in every note he played, every crescendo he effortlessly executed, and every silence, bringing me to a different world of pure emotions and true artistry.

As I further explored his discography, I could not help but feel that painful feeling of realising he is gone, his physical life was ceased years ago. The world had buried him and I was only increasing my exposure to the beauty he had left for us.

Standing there on the balcony I dared dream of how it would have been to see this musician perform live, and to sense that music in the very air. With my mind’s eye I saw the stage lights, the feeling of expectation making the air around me heavy and vast, and that moment when he decided to share his gift to the world.

However, as I desperately tried to get these thoughts out of my head and have a simple look at the actual man behind the music, all I could feel was thankfulness for the kind of life he had. Unlike most other people in this dog-eat-dog industry, which is the music industry, he had opted to quit when he wanted to, for the sake of his family and himself.

In fact, he had planned for it; his decision was not out of boredom or disinterest, but it was to remain as an authentic man. Even though I would have no chance to witness his concert live, I had to accept the fact that people will enjoy his compositions just as millions do it nowadays, enjoying the great work of real artists dedicated to music and its traditions.

In between the wear and tear concert posters and artwork by artists and painters of his time, I found boxes upon boxes of borrowed records, something I can finally relate to: The music. When I stroke my hand over the worn label of the year in which those albums were released, there was a bitter sweet twinge of tenderness and gratefulness in me. Perhaps those are all the things I will be able to clutch on to, which are enough to remind me that his memory, and that of all the deceased musicians that I love so much, will never fade as long as their music is alive and all the memories are theirs.

He continued to play the last notes, and I dozed off as the notes iterated in my head, so blissful and pleasant. In a society where many are engulfed by the desire to attain prominence and wealth, he was selfless of his passion to create and make his close ones proud, and would ever be an encouragement to the generations that come by.

For it kills me that I shall never be that girl at the front row, the decisions he took, are the second reason as to why I began to fall for him in the first place. And music was, and always will be, the first.

♡ Thank You For Reading ♡

♡ Tips Are Appreciated ♡

Fan Fiction

About the Creator

The Cafecito

I have a passion for coffee and a profound love for music. This platform serves as my sole social media. I write stories, but mostly, I am lucky to read yours. Be blessed.

Tips are Appreciated at https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/TheCafecito

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Johnny Andrews5 days ago

    Love the feeling of the discovery of an artist, but the fact that you will never see them or hear new stuff is a saddening weight upon the heart.

  • Cyrus5 days ago

    Congrats on TS!

  • angela hepworth5 days ago

    Awesome work!! I love Talk Talk and never expected something like this 😂

  • Kendall Defoe 5 days ago

    Never thought they would be the band to get their own fan fiction! Excellent work...and link!

  • Darkos6 days ago

    Beautifully written and shared 🩷🌞🌷❤️ Congratulations on Your Top Story ! ☺️

  • Christy Munson6 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! I'd not heard Talk Talk before and am so enthralled by their music now that I've heard it. Thank you for bringing it, and the story of the musicians, to my attention. Loved your story!

The CafecitoWritten by The Cafecito

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.