Poets logo

I’m Too Little For Grown-Up Games

Grandaddy please don’t

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 2 min read
9
I’m Too Little For Grown-Up Games
Photo by Caleb Woods on Unsplash

I wrote this piece when I was very young and I was not going to publish it. I wrote this to help me deal with things and I have fully dealt with what happened to me. I was even able to voice my pain to my Grandfather and forgive him, before he passed away.

I have decided to publish this after all because I want people to be more aware that sexual predators can be hiding in plain sight anywhere. I also want young girls and boys to know they are not alone. There are people who will believe them but I also understand if they cannot find the voice to speak out. One day they will!

Oh no, please do not do that again

Grandaddy, not like you did before,

You said it would be a funny game

But I do not want to play anymore.

***

Grandaddy, you said this was our secret

You said Daddy would no longer love me,

I promised to always be a good little girl

As you said no one would ever believe.

***

Grandaddy, I cannot grow up just for you

That’s not how life is meant to be,

Please do not hold and touch me anymore

No Grandaddy, you are frightening me.

***

Long after you are gone Grandaddy

I can still feel every inch of your touch,

I still hear every word you whispered

And cry because it hurts so much.

***

I tried to tell Daddy I don’t love you anymore

But he refuses to listen or even understand,

I shake in fear when he makes me wait for you

And beg him not to make me hold your hand.

***

Other little girls don’t have a Granddad like you

I often dream and wish I was them, or rather,

I wish the Universe would step in to save me

As I do not want you as my Grandfather.

*********************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I'm so sorry you had to go through that. And I'm so glad you have move past this pain and hurt. I was a victim myself. He was my uncle. Children have to be thought from young to raise this awareness in them

  • Well written and brave of you to share

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Wow. Very brave of you to share. Thank you and I'm sorry

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Hearted!!! Raw and courageous.

  • I feel your pain.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.