Poets logo

Poem: "Weary Purpose"

I guess it's some kind of "good curse"...

By Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Poem: "Weary Purpose"
Photo by Lechon Kirb on Unsplash

I guess it's some kind of "good curse"

like how love is legal madness

equally so, you take a leap of faith

swing and hope for the best

some of it doesn't always work out

but if you stay persistent you just might

have that one stroke of luck to pull it off

this is not a happy poem

having a purpose hurts, sometimes

if you're a gamer like me

it's like a quest you can't abandon

a path you can't stray from

like a game that's only got one ending

and it bothers the daylights out of me

seriously

having a purpose stresses me out

it infects every thought I have and

somehow leads me right back to it

and anytime I'm not doing it

all I can think about is how I should be

there are plenty of upsides to having one

but I don't hear much about the downsides

I am a realistic optimist but I'll be damned

if I ever hear another "good vibes only"

you don't know how rich the highs are

until you know what the lows are like

I don't think I have depression but

I am definitely anxious over the whole thing

I ache because I struggle with my grip

and I wince at every break in rhythm

my perspective can barely switch

and I walk with wavering wisdom

ignorance really is bliss

many live unaware of a cause

beware those with good reason

they don't breathe without flaws

---

inspired by the feeling of having a calling you can seem have a good relationship with.

you can find more work here on my instagram: @ephrain_

https://www.instagram.com/ephrain_/

thanks for reading.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a therapist based in New York. I love my kettlebell, jump rope, and rower. Mystery/fantasy, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, RPDR, and water enjoyer.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")Written by Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.