Poets logo

Poem: Violin

(It's gay.)

By S. AlexPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Poem: Violin
Photo by Yusuf Onuk on Unsplash

She's a mess of material

Tightly wrapped and finely designed

Lines aligned and curved at the sides

Looming, sleek, and demanding eyes.

Can I play her heartstrings?

Does she want me to play the melody?

Or does she anticipate mistakes?

And do I really care?

Does the violin notice who plays it

Beyond being impressed upon and used?

Does the music fill her head

Like to me it fills the room?

And do I want to destroy us both

In the short term or the long

To gather in my senses a mirage?

To fiddle with, to orchestrate, to finalize a song?

Do I read the paper right?

Are my hands enough lithe?

And am I holding this violin close enough,

Gracefully enough to my side?

This is not my instrument

And this is not my sound

And what I have looked for in her symphony

Would never here be found.

---

Thank you for reading. Share or tip if you enjoyed this poem, and visit my profile for more ~

love poems
1

About the Creator

S. Alex

In my 20's, nonbinary, and some kind of lost.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.