Poets logo

Poem: "Sleepyhead"

"Whether by word, action, or weather / consider me invested and tethered""

By DEUXQANEPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poem: "Sleepyhead"
Photo by Luca Bravo on Unsplash

Every morning,

the sheets and I finish creating an abstraction

like some kind of directionless attraction

I savor the slumber and it becomes what it may

we savor the moment and feel a certain way

without a rush, I jaunt through your mind

I look through yours, you look through mine

some memories sweet, some memories asinine

as time slowly passes you can leave it behind

what was once a mess, now a mosaic piece

where I consider the most, you consider the least

you are artwork coming alive, an artisan's wildest dream

cleverly crafted together from all of life's silver linings

I've been walking through the seasons

and as they go on, I find more reasons

to wait and be patient for goals to realize

the determination burns visibly in your eyes

whether by word, action, or weather

consider me invested and tethered

to the ways in which the seeds we've sown seep

deeply into the earth, and for now, are still asleep

-

inspired by catching feelings for someone else yet trying to be patient

more works on my instagram @ephrain_

love poems
Like

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.