Poets logo

Poem: Alone Together

it's hardly an "if," but a "when"...

By Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Poem: Alone Together
Photo by Juliette F on Unsplash

"Yeah, I think I'll stay a little longer..."

either one of us could've said that

and the other would've smiled

in this brilliant, shimmering June

in the late afternoon, I'm watching you

talk about the things you love

over FaceTime for hours on end

mesmerized by your joy...

wait, can you tell that story again?

a curiosity teeming in your eyes

as you ask me all about my life

somehow it feels like I'm living it again

and if I think about you with me

it's hardly an "if," but a "when"

once did we first walk under recent summer rains

then finally

a dance partner who doesn't feel ashamed

something about you isn't very plain

but I like it, and I like you

we hit it off (or you at least tried to)

be vulnerable and helps me decide who

I should spend my time and confide into

for no other would I brave lying bare on grass

when you forget the blanket for our picnics past

we've been silent about our silly antics galore

oh, the possibilities we have yet to explore...

---

inspired by what it feels like to feel new love during quarantine

follow me for more works on my instagram: @ephrain

love poems

About the Creator

Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a therapist based in New York. I love my kettlebell, jump rope, and rower. Mystery/fantasy, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, RPDR, and water enjoyer.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")Written by Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.