Poets logo

Playhouse

A freeform poem

By Real PoeticPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Playhouse
Photo by Krzysztof Kowalik on Unsplash

How’s the life you wanted?

Mom struggled to let go

of the dream that you sold us.

Traded your family to play

house with a cougar.

Who tore you away

and forbid you to leave.

For years, I thought you

left because of me.

If I wasn’t so clingy,

maybe you would’ve stayed.

I would’ve jumped on a

grenade

for you.

Now I’m older, I see..

You just wanted a bed.

Papa had nowhere for his head.

Told lies till your lips bled.

It’s sad you know nothing about me…

What was it like playing house,

while your daughters

cried on the couch?

sad poetryperformance poetry

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

Thanks for reading!

[email protected]

Instagram: therealpoetic

-R.P. ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Heartbreaking Poetic, really heartbreaking. Very well written!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Well this was tense and emotional... I'm kind of at a loss for words. It was so well written and I adore the rhyme scheme with words that didn't necessarily match up visually but by sound. (I know there a specific thing it's called but I lost it 😅)

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    WOW! Very powerful! Love your realness.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Oh this poem was so powerful 😳

  • Omgggg those last 3 lines! It broke my heart so much! Gosh this was such an emotional poem!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Oh my goodness. This is so emotional. Beautifully written.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Ugh!!! I can totally relate. My parents got divorced when I was 3. He never came around after that like it was everyone's fault except his that their relationship didn't work out. Such a sad and successful poem. 💖💖💖

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Straight through the heart! Well said, RP!

  • My heart feels this deeply 🥺

  • Ahna Lewis9 months ago

    So powerfully expressed!

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    😢😢❤️👏🏼

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    😍

  • Ooh, That was so Deep🥹📝❤️‍🩹

Real PoeticWritten by Real Poetic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.