Poets logo

play me out

let me move on

By Joni ÉcritPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
play me out
Photo by Mohammad Metri on Unsplash

I made a playlist for you

An acronym of our names

I couldn't show you

Hide my face in shame

You're consuming my mind

If you would look you'd find

That I have no motivation at all

My books remain on the floor

After they all fall

Change clothes eight times a day

Wear make-up just to wash it away

Honestly, I'm not sure you're real

No one can hold a candle

to how you make me feel

I love you

with everything I was

and I'll love you

with everything I can possibly be

Like the chickory that only blooms in the morning

Smile as she walks through the door

Smile at the ceiling

I'll live with the simple trauma

of writing about you

When I want to sing to you

Songs from this playlist I made you

from the rooftops of this town you hate

I really don't blame you

You know I hate it too

My dearest friend

I wish you would play me out

Embarrass me, reject me

Let this madness end

Let me move on

Let me move on

Let me move on

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.