Poets logo

Play For Keeps

A poem

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 4 years ago 1 min read

I took my heart out to the cleaners

It's been one whole day since I've seen her

Although I have got no fear

Deep down I know shes a cynical believer

Oh insecurity why wont you ever let me play for keeps?

I'm asking this here as I bleed

Dont you dare get the best of me

Dont you dare get the best of me

I took my soul out by the river

It's been one whole week and I still shiver

Although the water is clear

Deep down I know I'm an insecure dreamer

Oh insecurity why dont you ever let me play for keeps

I'm asking this here as I bleed

Dont you dare get the best of me

Dont you dare get the best of me

heartbreak

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Its been one whole day since I've seen her. This makes me think of a song by Kid rock and Sheryl Crow, they talk about how its been three days since they saw each other. That kind of love, where a day is so long. Its tragic. Great poem

Frankie MartinelliWritten by Frankie Martinelli

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.