Poets logo

Piece of me

Loving all of me

By Suzanne Arden Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Searching for me

Sometimes when I am really still

I see this little piece

When I close my eyes and give no thought

This piece shows up

When my mind is clear, when my heart is light

This piece peaks in

I push it away, it does not belong

This piece outside of me

It has no place to go, no place to fit

This dark, jagged piece

It doesn’t belong to me, I am sure

This ugly little piece

I am whole and I am full

I push the piece away

I do not want to see it anymore

It comes back bigger

I shout at it that it doesn’t belong

It gets bolder

I stop closing my eyes, I try to hide

It has found its way

It has creeped in, to close, I see it all the time

This puzzle piece that doesn’t belong

For I am already whole

There is no place for this piece

I am from the light

The dark does not fit

But I can no longer hide

This shadow piece, this darkness

I must give it a home

I no longer wants to hide

It wants to fit; it wants to be seen

It wants love, it wants to be light

This darkness, I did not know

This piece of me, I did deny

This hidden part, I did not love

This broken part, This part of my heart

I had broken it off, Hid it away

Ignored it, denied it,

My heart knew it missed a part

But I did not

I felt whole, but empty

Loving, but not lovable

Content but not happy

Secure but not safe

I shone the light from my heart

Scared of what I would see,

Scared of who I would be,

Scared of the hurt coming back

Scared of this tiny dark piece of me

My heart shone its light

The world shifted

My shadow piece was still dark

But I loved and accepted it anyways

And placed it back in my heart

And let it be free

And loved it just the way it was

And now we are whole

And we were Always home

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Suzanne Arden

I am a writer, coach, reiki master, breathwork and eft coach. I love teaching and inspiring people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.