Poets logo

Pick-Me-Not

bed of thorns

By Ali R. NaqviPublished 10 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
1
Pick-Me-Not
Photo by Roksolana Zasiadko on Unsplash

·

When I won't suit in full for love you draw

I'll push on, if core of my soul can flee;

be kind just, to name any Good you saw

in bare one life, for aim you will not be.

·

'tis true I veil a face gilt o'er in flaw,

Pull back the skin to bone and all will see:

From hard eyes safe as void runs over raw,

Deny worm can't 'fore busy gods a plea...

·

The base of vein to toil each I gave,

Yet 'held You nary pure to ward with Thee.

Thus fire mine grew cold with ev'ry wave

Sent deep into my maw, to end in sea

·

... so feel in days I live no glow to save,

As song of joys anew they fail to free,

For no hope now I find to shun my cave

·

this game of hide & sigh will bury me

·

love poems
1

About the Creator

Ali R. Naqvi

Professional idiot.

instagram.com/alineedshelp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rebecca Jane Edmonds10 months ago

    This is so beautiful. I liked what you wrote. It is clever and captured other worlds.

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    This feels vintage and new... Nice work...my liege.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.