Poets logo

Physical Education ; How To Feel Inferior

From my collection titled "Things I Learned In Middle School"

By AJ RyanPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
(image sourced using unspash.com)

PHYSICAL EDUCATION- HOW TO FEEL INFERIOR

How do you grade participation.

Really, how is success or identity divisible by speculation and why, at any point, should I be forced to believe that a stranger knows
my body better than I do.

I am not a woman or a man based on my muscle tone and no, I won't just grow up or out of my devout belief that I know what I need more than any person who has chosen scorn in spite of science.

Sports are just big, fat metaphors for the competition in life, and much like
anything else in the world- they are easier to excel in if you perform at status quo.

Who are you to question and who am I to know why I am unwilling or just plain DON'T fit the “standard”.

Climbing ropes can be graded achievements or really bad metaphors
for hope depending on how high the child climbs or how far the curve slopes as each new generation favors imagination over image.

Who I am is not divisible
by a stigmatic binary that supports the principle that I am anything that starts with "not" whether it be capable, sought after, or even, simply...

myself.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

AJ Ryan

Poet. Thinker. Artist.

Born in the midwest, raised in the southwest, rooted in the shadows of the Rocky Mountains. I am autistic, chronically ill, and only occasionally an optimist. I'm here to scream into something other than a void.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.