Poets logo

Perspectives

everywhere, she is our mother

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
3
photo by Sam Eliza Green on Pexels

From seat 23B,

the reef is a chunk of rock

fallen off the moon, hiding in the sea.

At the beach,

the sand isn’t a burden when it’s hot

and I walk everywhere.

The pains in my body disappear

so long as I am floating.

Salt is the appetizer

of my communion with the ocean.

I bathe in her power.

She holds me, rocks me.

Somehow, everywhere,

she is our mother.

I do not forget the moon,

but here, she is more

like a welcomed visitor

than the only beacon of hope.

From the deck,

suspended between worlds,

I am simply an observer

of her admiration for the water,

how she highlights curves

of the surface

like a lover barely touching skin

for fear of disturbing the peace.

I am too often

bothered by noise and repetition.

But ambience

of the waves heals me

because I let it.

I do not miss my family.

I will return soon to our dry land.

But first, I must pay homage to the ocean,

whence we are all strengthened.

Evening from seat 31A,

the city is illuminated

like a map of neurons

or the Milky Way.

love poemssurreal poetrynature poetryinspirational
3

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Gosh this was breathtakingly beautiful! I loved it!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Wonderful perspective in the photo and the poem. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.