Poets logo

Persephone's Cradle

Knowing I shall some day join you in the unknown is my most familiar thought

By Jessie WylderPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
7

I shiver at the thought

how some day

love

will be without a face.

Your face.

I fear it will fade and fray

like old poster in down town Athens.

Forgotten and frail in the rain.

Shot dead in Exarcheia neighbourhood

now you are remembered as a street.

~

I fear it might turn into an album cover.

Retro and forgotten too

in drawers and book shelves

where we hide all that hurts.

~

Train don't become inside me.

I'm afraid of the stops,

the passengers,

the changing scenery.

Stay here.

I'll meet you at the end of the road.

On the tracks.

Yes, on the tracks if I have to.

Now that my summers are gone

There's only one place I want to meet the sun again.

As close as possible.

~

Don't leave me

my fate, sorrowed and sweet.

With all my soul

down to every bone

and all my skin.

Borrowed under bondage

Loan to the loners and the ills

with all my flaws and all my faults

I shall be forever yours.

~

I remember the cadence of your voice

Waltzing on notes in every love confession

Bittersweet Lethe and I am so homesick

~

In my echoing void

I hear you whisper

'Our love this strong, is never gone.'

And my skies open up a cradle.

As long as I don't stray too far from Hades...

**********************************************************************

For my late husband. Comfort in knowing he's never gone, for love is stronger than the distance of death.

⚜ Pictures are selected and combined in a collage to capture the aesthetic imagery and symbolism of the poem.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for reading and supporting my work!

-> If you enjoyed my writing, please like clicking on the ♡ on the top or bottom of the page and comment your thoughts. Click on my name for more poems and stories.

-> If you enjoyed this piece, you may enjoy this one too (click link in title below) ->

Fort.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

sad poetrylove poems
7

About the Creator

Jessie Wylder

Writing has been my safe place, my antidote to grief, my love language, my psychonaut trips.

I'll give you what we all need; a hand, a shoulder, an empty page to sign your existence.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Filippos Tax2 years ago

    I can feel the strong personal emotions of Jessy!

  • Jim matthews2 years ago

    Beautiful

  • A Chourchouli 2 years ago

    ❤️

  • Very moving Jessie!! Beautiful poem!

  • Ashley P2 years ago

    Oh my love it's beautiful! Sorrowful and brave

  • Very deep and touching!

  • ELENI PANOU2 years ago

    Sad and beautiful. Grief is hard but our loved ones are never gone. We carry them inside.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.