Poets logo

Memento Mori

Comfort in Mortido

By Jessie WylderPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
6

Open arms

I nest because it's winter

This sun of yours,

dim and warm,

digging and nesting its way in

I sigh...

Slipping in smooth, soft veil

covered all the way up to the lower lip

It's not even cold

The ice inside is melting away

The water is rising

Swallowed and swimming

in a replica of the ocean

Ashes is my only shore

You see this fire

burned my shrines to the ground

And took its toll

And carried it

And still can never go undone

Lighthouse and blaze

~

I self destruct with charm

Temptation drips

Cherry liquor bleeding on the lips

Rocking chair by the fireplace

Dim lights and I wait

Cross legged

Creak, creak

I tip toe on pleasure notes

Fervent and quenched

~

Whims are fairytales

I grew out of and outgrew

Ghost stories became tangible

Sad end for the insatiable wrap

that covers me still

~

Velvet is too much of a comfort

for all the souls nailed on the cross

We, the fallen

caricatures of a life gone for good

Crescent and eclipsing

Resurrection now only in pain

This must be Hell that everyone condemns

For the sinner, an ordinary Monday

~

I don't want to linger around paper boats

That's why I'm walking around pretty motels

So I can come straight home

~

There...

In my lake of tears

the white swan

dissolves into the ugly duckling

Surface is not for me

I find comfort only when my breath is taken

**********************************************************************

⚜ For my late husband.

⚜ The loss of comfort as I knew it. C omfort now in pain.

⚜ Pictures are selected and combined in a collage to capture the aesthetic imagery and symbolism of the poem.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for reading and supporting my work!

-> If you enjoyed my writing, please like clicking on the ♡ on the top or bottom of the page and comment your thoughts. Click on my name for more poems and stories.

-> If you enjoyed this piece, you may enjoy this one too (click link in title below) ->

Wet pillow

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Jessie Wylder

Writing has been my safe place, my antidote to grief, my love language, my psychonaut trips.

I'll give you what we all need; a hand, a shoulder, an empty page to sign your existence.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Filippos Tax2 years ago

    You are so talented.

  • Jim matthews2 years ago

    Amazing work

  • A Chourchouli 2 years ago

    ❤️

  • Ashley P2 years ago

    Finding comfort in its rejection or absence... Amazing work!

  • I love your writing skills! You give life to the words!

  • ELENI PANOU2 years ago

    I liked this one a lot! Strong imagery and symbolism

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.