Poets logo

Wet Pillow

When you visit

By Jessie WylderPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
6

I'm fine with most things.

Easy come. Easy go.

I've seen it all.

Been most things too.

Inside and in between.

Accepted my fate.

Comfortable under my skin.

I'm the storm, and the stream.

Cascade of a dream.

Light breeze above

the lacy froth ashore.

Tide leaks

the more I lean.

My moon circles rarely

but its phases change

in a heartbeat.

Phases and faces.

Hide and seek in penumbra.

A smile for a sorrow.

I bloom in the gloom.

In secret contemplating death.

Tip toeing around

so not to wake him.

Flirting and toe dipping in the lake

Undyinful desire

to rest on some cloud across from you.

It's not about the fluff.

Not the soft cushions.

Not the furry blankets.

All tarnish and garnish.

It's the lullabies

and the lanterns in the mist.

The candlelight all hollows eve.

How your skin was soaked in petrichor

and it's raining ever since.

Life holds meaning somewhere

between the expiring smiles

and this comfy grave.

I lie in tears

longing your embrace

from across these walls.

It is then

we pierce the veil

and meet between worlds.

I pray for my desire phantoms

that come to life only at night.

I strive to make them real

only to remain nostalgia on my pillow.

Let me keep my eyes closed

a little longer

longing

as you linger here

as I wake sweet

from this living dream.

**********************************************************************

⚜ For my late husband.

⚜ C omfort when we meet in dreams.

⚜ Pictures are selected and combined in a collage to capture the aesthetic imagery and symbolism of the poem.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for reading and supporting my work!

-> If you enjoyed my writing, please like clicking on the ♡ on the top or bottom of the page and comment your thoughts. Click on my name for more poems and stories.

-> If you enjoyed this piece, you may enjoy this one too (click link in title below) ->

Knitted and Neat

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

surreal poetrylove poems
6

About the Creator

Jessie Wylder

Writing has been my safe place, my antidote to grief, my love language, my psychonaut trips.

I'll give you what we all need; a hand, a shoulder, an empty page to sign your existence.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Eythymia Krba2 years ago

    This poem is amazing!

  • Filippos Tax2 years ago

    Excellent work!!!

  • Jim matthews2 years ago

    Beautiful, very bittersweet

  • A Chourchouli 2 years ago

    ❤️

  • Jo Mad2 years ago

    "My moon circles rarely but its phases change in a heartbeat." Oh my god!! Just amazing!!! I think that this poem is my favourite one!

  • Ashley P2 years ago

    This should definitely be the winner! From the pictures to the imagery in the poem it totally got me. Very dreamy and warm. The definition of comfort in the sheets and warmth in the soul.

  • The greatest of comforts! Great job!

  • ELENI PANOU2 years ago

    Very evocative and moving!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.