Poets logo

Knitted and Neat

Sweater skin

By Jessie WylderPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
9

You were the mist in the dewy morn

Drizzle in the city I was born

Steamy tea, brews and broth

Maple syrup, nutmeg and acorn

*

You were the crisp in the orange leaves

waltzing on the streets

the pumpkin spice and the frail twigs

apple bite, candle spark and cinnamon twist

*

Cuddle under blanket soft

café in the corner vintage shop

purring cats and old blues

cosy cabin in the woods

*

Roast chestnuts and hot chocolate mug

Christmas lights and fireplace rug

Snowflake glittered pine

crackling cold and mulled wine

*

Now in guilt I churn and turn...

*

This skin of yours

I slowly learn how to caress

How to feel and nest

New vessel, sweet old scent

Honey glazed and oak built

Borrowed yet destined

It clothes my naked soul

Sweater for now that you're gone

*

This skin of yours I had

Before our dreams went bad

To cherish and to hold

Frankincense, myrrh and gold

*

Pilgrim on your neck

On my knees to pray and beg

Sacred shrine

Bestowed and mine

Ether and dream

The comfort I wished to die in

Now you're gone

Before we are old

*

Still this skin of mine persists

This skin you sent I shall not resist

**********************************************************************

⚜ For my late husband.

⚜ Pictures are selected and combined in a collage to capture the aesthetic imagery and symbolism of the poem.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for reading and supporting my work!

-> If you enjoyed my writing, please like clicking on the ♡ on the top or bottom of the page and comment your thoughts. Click on my name for more poems and stories.

-> If you enjoyed this piece, you may enjoy this one too (click link in title below) ->

Kalimera

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

love poems
9

About the Creator

Jessie Wylder

Writing has been my safe place, my antidote to grief, my love language, my psychonaut trips.

I'll give you what we all need; a hand, a shoulder, an empty page to sign your existence.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Filippos Tax2 years ago

    Excellent poem!!!

  • Jim matthews2 years ago

    Very Bittersweet, I loved it

  • A Chourchouli 2 years ago

    ❤️

  • Mar Mant2 years ago

    Excellent poem!

  • Beautiful Jessie!! Great work!!

  • Ashley P2 years ago

    It warms my heart and makes me tearful at the same time <3

  • It felt like a hug!

  • ELENI PANOU2 years ago

    Very cosy and beautiful!

  • Daniel Anderson2 years ago

    Very beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.