Poets logo

Fort.com

I was me for 25 years. We were one for 10. How I am supposed to trust anything anymore?

By Jessie WylderPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
6

Com-fort not

For my fort is gone

Only walls now

guarding my dead citadel

~

Strength in protection

Love in imperfection

Bonds and bondage

Roses and thorns

~

Addition becomes addiction

Subtraction becomes attraction

~

I'm stuck here

counting the fault in our stars

and how many earthly sins I can take

before I confess in your arms.

My friends sit comfortably in the back yard

counting shooting stars

sipping whiskey

and you're telling me to trust

the maths that I never understood.

~

I dig my fingers in the keyboard

As when I stroke your hair

Fort.com; only the signal is flatlining

…Time is too much of a distance to count

**********************************************************************

⚜ For my late husband.

⚜ The loss of comfort as I knew it.

⚜ Pictures are selected and combined in a collage to capture the aesthetic imagery and symbolism of the poem.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for reading and supporting my work!

-> If you enjoyed my writing, please like clicking on the ♡ on the top or bottom of the page and comment your thoughts. Click on my name for more poems and stories.

-> If you enjoyed this piece, you may enjoy this one too (click link in title below) ->

Memento Mori

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

love poemsheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Jessie Wylder

Writing has been my safe place, my antidote to grief, my love language, my psychonaut trips.

I'll give you what we all need; a hand, a shoulder, an empty page to sign your existence.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Filippos Tax2 years ago

    bravo jessy

  • Jim matthews2 years ago

    I love the double meaning in the title

  • A Chourchouli 2 years ago

    ❤️

  • Jo Mad2 years ago

    Your way of expression is very intelligent and special!

  • Ashley P2 years ago

    A lot of meanings in just a few words. I'm amazed!

  • Great work!

  • ELENI PANOU2 years ago

    Very innovative way to express the topic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.