Poets logo

My true colours

Comfort in finding my true self

By Jessie WylderPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
13

I wore my black dress

like a flake of night sky

The city was brimming with colour

Cars

Adverts

Traffic lights

The office walls painted

the suits and ties

somber

the folders and highlighting pens

bright

Electrifying neon and candy floss pastel

Turquoise, indigo, scarlet, crimson, ivory

Funfair of colours

Swirling and whirling

they turn and turn

and lose themselves

one by one

cancelling each other

reaching white

White is my new jacket

white are the walls

pure

crystal white

unblemished

perfect

monotonous

that goes silent

and deaf

retreating

cloud and mist

dispersing

dissolving

swallowing me

pellucid

transparent

frail

annihilated

I am window

glass

ice

water

steam

air

How many can you fit in an empty room?

I didn't care

I could fit everywhere

Was it what I wanted?

White is the hospital

and the shroud

The grave marble

and the white noise

Cocaine and heroin

White is where the rainbow

goes to die.

I was divergent

The black sheep

One size fit all

wasn't for me

A misfit

I looked inside

Poems in wet ink

Earthly gems

Obsidian and onyx

Crashed velvet

A murder of crows

Fire-breathing charcoal

Midnight I was back in darkling

In black I could fit everything

Could be all there was

all that ever existed

black matter and black hole

I closed my eyes and surrendered

Embraced by the dream-birthing void

I can never decide if I want my coffee black

and that's my only problem...

**********************************************************************

⚜ Pictures are selected and combined in a collage to capture the aesthetic imagery and symbolism of the poem.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for reading and supporting my work!

-> If you enjoyed my writing, please like clicking on the ♡ on the top or bottom of the page and comment your thoughts. Click on my name for more poems and stories.

-> If you enjoyed this piece, you may enjoy this one too (click link in title below) ->

Had I dived?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

surreal poetry
13

About the Creator

Jessie Wylder

Writing has been my safe place, my antidote to grief, my love language, my psychonaut trips.

I'll give you what we all need; a hand, a shoulder, an empty page to sign your existence.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Filippos Tax2 years ago

    Excellent poem .You feel all the tense ……

  • Jim matthews2 years ago

    Brilliant, I love that last line.

  • A Chourchouli 2 years ago

    ❤️

  • Mar Mant2 years ago

    Amazing work! I loved it!

  • Jo Mad2 years ago

    Exceptional! The way you write is very special!

  • Amazing work!!

  • Ashley P2 years ago

    Making ourselves at home. Unique interpretation of comfort!

  • I love your writing. Very vivid imagery.

  • ELENI PANOU2 years ago

    Lovely work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.