Poets logo

Had I dived?

Finding comfort in acceptance

By Jessie WylderPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
8

You see, you feel it on the skin once things turn.

It’s in the air.

It touched me, head to toe, all at the same time.

Up above and far away,

higher and outer, perhaps the mind got hooked

and kept swinging.

It didn’t wake up to the shiver.

Had I dived?

I, for once, was soaked.

Blind to what was happening further inside,

yet I’d swear how my skin was nothing but sponge.

Still, no drop had wet my innards.

It just flowed, endlessly.

Licking the skin, sliding on the surface.

Then floated away.

Not everything was aquatic, I guessed.

For the breath didn’t show resistance.

I got a hint.

It wasn’t real.

Or maybe I, wasn’t me.

The pool, its surface dyed in an impish cyan.

All I craved and all I feared.

When I jumped, I was nothing but dye.

Not water.

Castaway in a dream catcher.

And the dream went bad and turned into paper.

I saw me from a distance, facing my back.

What I am looking at beyond the horizon?

The world shrunk in a flash.

I wasn’t told, with wings to get adorned.

I don’t want my sky blue and the brush is not with me.

I’ll be damned here, staring at the lifeless birds.

Stuck smudge on a stained canvas.

Now I dream of freedom in some sterile white.

Which key to stop the time?

Silence crafts the melody again.

What I wouldn’t give to get rid of the old discords.

Not to remember, not to regret.

Not to seek and not to hide.

Hard as it can be to leave the bygones,

harder to meeting them anew.

And these you’ll be longing, they have long forgotten you.

We end up smudged, with missing pieces.

We are our very own masterpieces.

I’m certain now.

I hadn’t dived.

I had drowned.

This is how my drops of poetry in the ocean of a forgotten truth was found.

Paper boat it might be but I am the captain.

Let me sail in my ocean of harmony.

**********************************************************************

⚜ Pictures are selected and combined in a collage to capture the aesthetic imagery and symbolism of the poem.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for reading and supporting my work!

-> If you enjoyed my writing, please like clicking on the ♡ on the top or bottom of the page and comment your thoughts. Click on my name for more poems and stories.

-> If you enjoyed this piece, you may enjoy this one too (click link in title below) ->

Wet Pillow

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Jessie Wylder

Writing has been my safe place, my antidote to grief, my love language, my psychonaut trips.

I'll give you what we all need; a hand, a shoulder, an empty page to sign your existence.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Maria Kontopidi2 years ago

    I loved it! It is very moving!

  • Filippos Tax2 years ago

    It is so emotional strong!!!I love it.

  • A Chourchouli 2 years ago

    ❤️

  • Mar Mant2 years ago

    The poem was so breathtaking!

  • Ashley P2 years ago

    I could see the images in my mind! Deep and still oddly comfortable.

  • ELENI PANOU2 years ago

    I loved the imagery! So evocative!

  • Jim matthews2 years ago

    The imagery in this made me feel adrift in an ocean.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.