Poets logo

finally.

winning and losing

By Poppy Published 10 days ago 1 min read
20
Image Created on Midjourney

If I stayed

I would’ve been

Letting myself get

Autopsied alive

If I left I would’ve

Become a carcass

Rotting with guilt

And loneliness

I couldn’t win

You left.

Amputated me

Like a limb

Posted your happiness

On a billboard and

Everywhere I might see it

I swallowed denial

Coughed up infectious realisations

And watched my entire life

Collapse around me

Questions falling like debris

You won

I buried myself

Under six feet of anger

Bargained with depression

And clawed at semblances of sanity

I lost

There I was

Searching for closure

Watching my ribcage decay

Writing my own eulogy

You kept winning

I tried and tried and tried

But I kept losing

Now I hold

Summits in my palms

And wear dreams

Like mascara

I have exhaled

The need for your validation

And inhaled an alleviation

I paid for with 12 months of my life

The words “I am happy”

Are precious and golden

And finally, finally true

Who’s won now?

❀❀❀❀❀

inspirationalheartbreakFriendship
20

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 days ago

    I love the flipping of the script at the end, indeed who's won now?? Great piece Poppy, love the whole vibe from start to finish! Leaves me feeling inspired!

  • G. A. Botero8 days ago

    Wow

  • Mackenzie Davis8 days ago

    Ooh, that ending!! So positive, but with such baggage... The image of being autopsied alive is terrifying me, even now. "Now I hold Summits in my palms And wear dreams Like mascara" This is my favorite stanza, though. Gorgeous images. I LOVE holding summits in one's palms, and dreams being like mascara; you can finally see them. Just... masterful.

  • Shirley Belk9 days ago

    Exceptional!!! Wonderful writing

  • Wow! Gut wrenchingly vivid! So relieved you have finally triumphed and won happiness.

  • It's definitely you who won! Loved your poem so much!

  • D.K. Shepard10 days ago

    Stunning! So much pain and tension and then so triumphant in the final stanzas! Great poem, Poppy!

  • ROCK 10 days ago

    Soul ripping slam; your poetry breaks me.

  • Belle10 days ago

    Beautiful

  • Emily Binkley10 days ago

    Such a beautiful poem and very relatable.

  • Hannah Moore10 days ago

    I SO wanted that ending. Beautiful poem

  • Cathy holmes10 days ago

    Beautiful piece. Love these lines especially, though the whole thing is so wrought with emotion "The words “I am happy” Are precious and golden And finally, finally true"

  • Alexander McEvoy10 days ago

    "I buried myself Under six feet of anger Bargained with depression And clawed at semblances of sanity" I love this verse more than I feel fully qualified to explain. I have felt this exact thing more times than I can count. Buried myself under six feet of anger, the feeling of having died, unable to feel ought else but that rage. The all consuming fire that tears down our sanity and drives us into the ground. This was a truly beautiful poem, Poppy! Loved it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.