Poets logo

Peanut butter toast

A snack time favorite

By The Invisible WriterPublished about a month ago β€’ Updated about a month ago β€’ 1 min read
15
Peanut butter toast
Photo by Peter Secan on Unsplash

It's time to say Goodbye

to the dull drums

to the endless hours of work

to the angry co-workers

to the never-ending commutes

to the company, begging for loyalty

~

Hey, company, when were you loyal??

I screw up, I'm gone, sayonara, see ya

No, sorry to tell you this company

but f and u, because today, I'm not coming in

today, I'm playing hooky, having a good time

laughing out loud, and making memories

~

Gather round, kids I've got a treat for ya

a blast from the past, a snack Grandma

used to make, to hold us over till dinner

when we came in fresh off the school bus

before we headed back out the door

to rule the neighborhood till dark

~

That's right, Kiddos we were adventurers

rulers of our destinies, in a kingdom we

called the outside, where you'll be headed

after this delicious treat...wanna know

what it is? Hold on, ya ready for the reveal

here it is, ta-da, peanut butter toast

~

Two slices of perfectly toasted bread

with a thin layer of butter spread

evenly across the top, then covered

in warm, creamy peanut butter

that'll stick to your throat, but don't worry

there'll be milk to help wash it down

~

I'd give you what we had, but

the school, the parents association, and

child protective services would have

My ass, if I let you drink

water from the garden hose

in the backyard, like we did

~

What's that, my youngest perfect child

Nutella? don't you dare

there will be no chocolate spread

Why, you say, because back in my day

all Grandma let us have was

PEANUT BUTTER

humorFree VerseFor FunFamily
15

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor14 days ago

    Hi-i ~ This one caught my (i) ~ My Twin was a smooth/and I was a crunchy - never the breads shall meet. I've just been writing reach-backs - may I insert a slather of yours between them. j.in.l.a.

  • Marti Maley19 days ago

    You made me want peanut butter and milk :) Really enjoyed reading this!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a month ago

    Cutetastic! Creative & Fabulous! πŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎ

  • I don't like peanut butter but I do like your poetry

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Terrific snack!!! Fabulous poem!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • L.C. SchΓ€ferabout a month ago

    Choc spread can't hold a candle to peanut butter! Apple slices and black pepper mmmmm πŸ˜‹πŸ˜Š

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Made me smile and laugh!!! Loved it

  • Leslie Writesabout a month ago

    Butter first, then peanut butter? Decadent! I’ve never tried it that way. Tasty poem.

  • I'm a chocolate fan, but even I don't do Nutella unless there are no other options, lol. Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, sure. Ferrero Rocher with hazelnut, even better. But Nutella? Why? And the garden hose. "You're either in or you're out," was one of mom's rules. And if you were out & thirsty, "There's the hose."

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    That was lovely, and gave me memories of drinking out of hoses and disappearing till dark. As for PB toast, it's still my daily breakfast with a little raspberry jam.

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    Such a delightful poem! Love the tone and the joy that comes through!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Mmmm, I loveeeeee peanut butter. I have it every morning for my breakfast but as PB&J. Loved your poem!

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Ooh, I can just taste it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.