Poets logo

Paul Ozymandias

With Apologies to, oh I don't know, everyone famous and already Dead

By John CoxPublished 14 days ago Updated 11 days ago 1 min read
I robbed poor dead Hans Holbein the Younger for this. I hope you like it.

I met a poet from the British Lands

Who said: "I have no truck with all those old cranks,

The romantics long dead,

their shattered memories lie in state,

With pouty, serious lips and sneer of poetic command,

Their words wounded and dull from lifeless passions read

Which yet survive, stamped upon yellowed pages,

The hands that wrote them long dead.

On pitiful pedestal forgot, their names are still carved:

Shelley, Byron and Blake,

Pushkin and Coleridge, oh sin against the saints

That bloody bore Wordsworth and Keats

Their saccharine prosody a pain in my royal feet."

He paused for breath and jauntily shifted his gold crown

Till he spake once more,

"My name is Paul Ozymandias, Kingmaker of Kings;

Look on my Words, ye bilious bores and despair!"

Then he grew silent, his lips turned down in a frown

Staring with seeming sadness at dusty volumes

Untouched all around.

His royal hand grasped a lily as he heaved a great sigh,

"Nothing beside remains," he whispered lastly,

"Round the decay of this colossal Wreck, boundless and bare

The lone and level shelves stretch far and away."

...

Apologies to Percy Bysshe Shelley. It's a jolly good thing he's already dead.

For Fun

About the Creator

John Cox

Family man, grandfather, retired soldier and story teller with an edge.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • shanmuga priya3 days ago

    Which yet survive, stamped upon yellowed pages, Staring with seeming sadness at dusty volumes.....I liked these lines... captivating poem!

  • Lamar Wiggins7 days ago

    😅 That Photo! Your creativity is very adaptable... It knows no limits. Fun stuff, John!

  • Zayn 7 days ago

    Amazing story keep uploading

  • Heather Zieffle 10 days ago

    I'm not much of a poem aficionado, and had to look the original poem up so I could understand the parody. I think I like yours better, haha! Great job as usual, John!

  • Gerard DiLeo10 days ago

    Alright, John. I've decided if any of my poetry (being that good or that bad) deserves a scathing parody, you're the guy I want to do it. Shelley would love to pushed down another notch on your hit list.

  • L.C. Schäfer10 days ago

    If he weren't, he'd probably clock you one, eh 😁

  • John, I had forgotten about this poem from high school lit class, and you brought it to life with much more style than my teacher with no sense of humor. Your work is so varied but consistently great that I can't wait to read your next offering!

  • Magnificent! Bravo! This is one of my favorite poems that I memorized as a youth so your rendition gave me double delight. You manage to be witty and poignant and poetic in equal measures. Your name will be stamped on this digital pedestal 'til pixels scramble and fade! And your could your parody have a more fitting subject than King Paul? Jolly good, I say.

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    Haha. This is brilliant and so much fun. I wasn't familiar with the poem, but when I looked it up, I was so impressed with what a great job you did on the rewrite. And that pic is perfect. King Paul looks like he's about to judge all us minions. I hope his sentence is not too harsh. 😬🤣

  • D.K. Shepard13 days ago

    What a fun parody! Very clever, John!!

  • Christy Munson13 days ago

    Oh, the inside jokes. The outside jokes. The jokey jokes. The mockery made of making a mockery of a well-mocked king of kingmakers who dethrones upon the throne. This one's porcelain, John. All in the name of Paul the Great, who may or may not know where greatness doth hide... Brilliant. I expected nothing less. Of both of you! 🤪 🤩 🥳

  • Paul Stewart13 days ago

    My youngest son's favourite poem lol. To be fair...I'm a grumpy old gen-xer lol. Percy is fine enough...prefer his wife's work. This...though...is hilarious...I mean look at that face....that image is now burnt into my mind. Your words, as ever, though, were just oozing with brilliance. Yeah...I am a little speechless...made me smile this morning lol. So that's a good thing. Awesome work and thank you for the silly, clever, funny nod! Wordsworth can go hide in a hole (I do realise he's dead...oh the irony.) So many clever lines...but don't wanna highlight them and be accused of being pretentious haha! Well done and thanks for the smile and laugh and that awesome image that makes me look like I'm sat on the outhouse toilet....

  • That photo, I cannotttttt!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Also, I call Paul as Sir Paul, Lord Paul and King Paul Shakespeare. This was so freaking fantastic!

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    I had to go look this poem up. Fantastic rewrite, but I hope Paul's shelves don't get bare.

  • Anna 13 days ago

    Oh my! The last line...😅 Great poem, I loved it!

  • Rachel Deeming13 days ago

    I don't think they'd mind too much, any of them. I loved this little reworking for King Paul! What I would draw your eye to is your mentioning of Shelley's full name at the end of your piece and the spelling of his middle name.

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    What a fun poem and hahahaha to the comment: it's a good thing he is already dead!

  • I think that works, Paul. Now you look a proper King.

John CoxWritten by John Cox

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.