Poets logo

Patterns

a tale of rise and fall

By Andrei Z.Published 3 months ago 1 min read
12
Created in Blender

For there are patterns in my head,

For we are partners in this game,

We'll burn the bridge and tread ahead.

We're different, but we are the same.

I see the layers of this world,

I peel the visions with my gaze.

They set my irises ablaze,

And all the boundaries get blurred.

While history repeats its course,

I will respect what it taught me.

We're bound to dreams of being free,

Tied by the oath to break the curse.

So let us go, release the reins,

I'll lead the way now on my own.

My heart will heed the playful waves

Of trepidation and concern.

To each their awe, to each their throne

Of thorns, of fortune or despair.

But know, we won't die alone,

Together, we will daily dare

The fate, the hardships, everything.

Together, we are strong and brave.

***

The patterns turn into a scene,

I see it now: a grim conclave

Of phantom shapes and ghostly sounds,

These screeching voices in my head;

What goes around and comes abound,

The dire, pure, hooting dread.

'Let go of fears,' they command.

'We are your demons, so embrace

Your weakness as your greatest strength.

And in return, we will demand

Your lively face and steadfast faith.'

And I succumb, a wretched thing,

For in the shade of wilted grace,

I have no will to fight the sin.

***

Don't look at me, what I've become

Is filth unworthy of your care.

This is my fault, it's only fair,

My very soul—a fetid slum.

Where once was glee, now blossoms greed,

An ugly grimace of disdain.

Where spite and anger come to reign,

There, there's no place for hope to seed.

***

So take the reins! I can no more

Pretend to know which path to go,

Oh, what a fool I was before!

The patterns set my brain aglow;

They tricked me into thick despair.

I yearned for beauty, consonance.

Look at me now, beyond repair,

My soul, my faith. A dissonance

Of reveries. And like a corpse,

My body melts into thin air.

While history repeats its course,

I'll fade away into the glare.

surreal poetryBallad
12

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Overthinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • A. Lenae3 months ago

    "My very soul - a fetid slum." That line broke me. Oh man, oh man. This is such a riveting unfolding, an epic story told within beautiful poetic ebbing and flowing. It's rich with meaning and heroic narrative, with the end leaving me feeling like the protagonist's hand is slipping out of my own. Such gorgeous writing!

  • Kalina Bethany3 months ago

    My eyes widened as I read - "They set my irises ablaze" - I love the irony of this! For some reason this poem gave me hope, specifically reading, "And in return, we will demand Your lively face and steadfast faith"... maybe I'm too much of an optimist, but I think these historical patterns can be trashed - or I hope so

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    "To each their awe, to each their throne" - my favourite line!

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    👏Such brilliant writing man! Well done!! 😊

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    This is so beautiful!! And the song perfectly goes. 💕

  • Achingly, tragically beautiful. I do believe I've said this before, but I feel we have a lot in common, Andrei. I resonate with this deeply.

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Wow! You were in the zone when you wrote this. Beautiful work, Andrei!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.