Poets logo

Cries of Candle

In the night

By Rowan Finley Published 22 days ago 1 min read
9
Photo taken by lil artsy on pexels.com

Human heart hardly flickers

Saddening sight

Through dark night

Alone

Again

Burn me

At both ends

At least

Until I’m

A waxy puddle

Or there’s nothing

Left

“I’m sorry,”

Tears drip

“I’m just really tired.”

Tears fall

I just want to be used

You know

It’s a season

It’s just a phase

I’m used to this

Remember?

I remind myself

That I’ve…

Been here before

Familiar frustrations

I just wanted to feel warmth

I was tired of rejection

People walked by

I stood taller on the shelf

They pick me up to sniff me

Their nose would wrinkle

I’d go back on the shelf

My price got lower and lower

Until finally

Someone bought me

They took me home

Setting me ablaze

At last

I could burn

and burn and burn

sad poetry
9

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    Now darn it I will look at the candles in the store differently (and many times will wrinkle my nose)! 😀

  • Colleen Walters22 days ago

    I love candles… heartfelt

  • Farhat Naseem22 days ago

    heart touching

  • Great poem! I loved the creative perspective on this.

  • Nice work from you.

  • Manisha Dhalani22 days ago

    What a beautiful, descriptive piece from the perspective of a candle. Very unique and brought about a lot of feelings. Nice one!

  • Emil indw22 days ago

    Will still be chosen even with patience -_-

  • Thank goodness someone bought the dear little candle!🥹

  • Fantastic poem! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.