Poets logo

Patriarch's villanelle

for paps

By Dane BHPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
18
Patriarch's villanelle
Photo by Zahra Amiri on Unsplash

Life is full of arrows and slings.

I learned to walk wounded, wet eyes towards the sun.

He said: only cry at beautiful things.

*

He is one subject to five children kings.

From his waning eye’s view, they’ve just begun –

if he could just shield them from life’s arrows and slings.

*

For my sixteenth birthday, I asked him to bring

me to music. He picked Mozart. When it was done,

I asked: why do you cry at this beautiful thing?

*

I said: tears for woodwinds and strings?

He nodded, ignoring my shun.

He said: life is full of arrows and slings,

*

but tears are blessings,

sacred as your poet’s tongue.

He said: sanctify the beautiful things.

*

When he wanes into black-sky starlight, I will sing

Mozart arias. As for tears, I promise him none.

Life is full of arrows and slings,

but I only cry at beautiful things.

love poems
18

About the Creator

Dane BH

By day, I'm a cog in the nonprofit machine, and poet. By night, I'm a creature of the internet. My soul is a grumpy cat who'd rather be sleeping.

Top Story count: 17

www.danepoetry.com

Check out my Vocal Spotlight and my Vocal Podcast!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Well done! Congrats on TS

  • k eleanor5 months ago

    This is gorgeous. Subscribing for sure! Congratulations on top story❤

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    This is different, really beautiful. I still have no idea how to write a Vill whatsit. So I guess Vocal guys are ok with different ways of writing it. Very interesting, Congrats on your take.

  • Congratulations on Top Story! This was an intriguing variation on the villanelle form.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    This was beautiful. I've subscribed now and well done on Top Story!

  • Kainat bibi5 months ago

    ❤️

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    This is so full of poignancy, very good indeed.

  • Davina Zinn McKee5 months ago

    I love this! There’s so much power in those repeated last two lines. ‘I learned to walk wounded, wet eyes towards the sun’ is brilliant as well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.